ClassOfNext
All colleges

Howard University Common Data Set 2025-26

DCTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required, but considered if submitted; no test-based placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

42.2%

15,724 of 37,270

Early decision rate

84.4%

Non-ED pool: 41.7%

SAT middle 50%

1050–1270

ACT middle 50%

20–26

Who got into Howard University: GPA and SAT of reported applicants

See who got into Howard University

GPA and SAT of 44 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.

Unlock from $9.90/month
Admissions
AppliedC137,270
AdmittedC115,724
EnrolledC12,490
YieldC115.8%
Early decisionC21363 of 430 (84.4%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC21,310
Accepted a placeC2637
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC947%
Submitted ACTC915%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9540–660
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9510–620
Average high school GPAC123.68
GPA of 4.0C117%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1143%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1130%
GPA below 3.50C1120%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$37,996
Required feesG1$940
Food and housingG1$18,982
Need fully met (first-years)H210.3%
Average % of need metH258.6%
Average need-based packageH2$29,925
Average need-based grantH2$9,275
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresVery important
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB111,084
First-year retentionB2288%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB73.5%
Notes on this filing
  • C2: waitlist 'number of wait-listed students admitted' is blank, so waitlist_admitted is null. Offered (1310) and accepted (637) are mapped by position.
  • C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals are the sums of the men/women/unknown counts (unknown = 0); they match the printed totals.
  • C8A/C8F: the test policy checkbox is 'not required, consider if submitted' for SAT or ACT, and C8F is blank. The C8A item refers to Fall 2027 admission policy.
  • C21/C22: early decision and early action are both offered. Early action applied and admitted counts are not reported (C22 has no counts), so they are null.
  • B4-B11: the 4-year graduation rate is not printed (the filing gives 1184 completers of a 1918 final cohort, which would need calculation), so grad_rate_4yr is null. The 6-year rate is from the Fall 2019 cohort (1410/1918). The printed field is 0.735 (grid shows 0.74); 73.5 is used.
  • B22: retention rate is printed as 88 with no supporting computation shown.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is line D / line C (2249/2251) for the first-time, first-year column. The definition used is an interpretation.
  • H2: pct_need_fully_met is line H / line D (232/2249), per instruction. Line D is 'awarded any financial aid', not strictly 'any need-based aid', so this is a slight mismatch with the instruction's wording.
  • H2 line I (avg % need met, 58.6) is taken as printed for avg_pct_need_met.
  • G1: private institution, so one tuition figure ($37,996) is used for tuition; in-state and out-of-state are null.
  • Test policy in C8A refers to Fall 2027, not Fall 2025 admissions.

Similar colleges

Regent University

VA · 41.2% admitted · SAT 1060–1250

Compare with Howard University
Texas Christian University

TX · 48.1% admitted · SAT 1110–1330

Compare with Howard University
Southwestern University

TX · 43.1% admitted · SAT 1140–1290

Compare with Howard University
UC Davis

CA · 44.3% admitted · SAT —

Compare with Howard University
Providence College

RI · 50.9% admitted · SAT 1100–1310

Compare with Howard University
Howard University admissions FAQ
What is Howard University's acceptance rate?
Howard University admitted 15,724 of 37,270 first-year applicants for 2025-26, an acceptance rate of 42.2%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Howard University's early decision acceptance rate?
Howard University admitted 363 of 430 early decision applicants (84.4%) for 2025-26.
What SAT score do you need for Howard University?
The middle 50% of Howard University's enrolled first-years scored 1050–1270 on the SAT and 20–26 on the ACT.
How much does Howard University cost?
Tuition is $37,996, plus $18,982 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $9,275.
What is Howard University's graduation rate?
73.5% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Howard University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?