ClassOfNext
All colleges

Montana State University Common Data Set 2025-26

MTTest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not required and considered if submitted; scores also used for placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

99.4%

19,769 of 19,892

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1070–1290

ACT middle 50%

21–27

Admissions
AppliedC119,892
AdmittedC119,769
EnrolledC13,743
YieldC118.9%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC914%
Submitted ACTC929%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9540–660
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9520–640
Average high school GPAC123.51
GPA of 4.0C1121.6%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1121.4%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1117.9%
GPA below 3.50C1139.1%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$6,731
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$31,216
Required feesG1$2,217
Food and housingG1$14,580
Need fully met (first-years)H227.6%
Average % of need metH265%
Average need-based packageH2$14,459
Average need-based grantH2$8,115
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordConsidered
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayNot considered
  • Recommendation(s)Not considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
  • Talent/abilityNot considered
  • Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workNot considered
  • Work experienceNot considered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB115,142
First-year retentionB2281.8%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB59.2%
Notes on this filing
  • Year: CDS 2025-2026 filing; admissions data are Fall 2025 first-time, first-year; applied/admitted/enrolled totals are the sums of the male/female/unknown rows in C1 (9,423+10,300+169; 9,376+10,228+165; 1,944+1,758+41).
  • C2: waitlist policy answered No and no waitlist counts are printed; waitlist fields left null.
  • C21: early decision answered No; no ED counts printed.
  • C22: nonbinding early action offered (rolling dates); early action applied and admitted counts not printed, left null.
  • C8A/C8F: SAT/ACT not required for admission; C8F states they are encouraged for placement. The two items agree.
  • B4-B11: four-year graduation rate is not printed (only cohort counts); left null rather than computed. Six-year rate 59.2% is from the Fall 2019 bachelor's cohort (line H).
  • B22: retention 81.80% as printed (2,600 of 3,178 Fall 2024 entrants).
  • G1: public institution, so in-district and in-state tuition are both $6,731 and entered as in-state; tuition left null. Costs are 2026-27 figures from G1, first-year column.
  • H2: aid figures are for 2024-25 final aid year, first-time full-time first-year column. Pct_need_fully_met = line h 353 / line d 1,281 = 27.6%. pct_with_need_awarded_aid left null: the filing gives counts only (line d over line c would be 93.98%, but this is not stated as a rate).
  • H1/H2 aid year is 2024-25 final (checked on H1 form); H2 line d used as the need-based award denominator as instructed.

More colleges in MT

Montana State University admissions FAQ
What is Montana State University's acceptance rate?
Montana State University admitted 19,769 of 19,892 first-year applicants for 2025-26, an acceptance rate of 99.4%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does Montana State University have early decision?
No. Montana State University does not offer early decision, per its 2025-26 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Montana State University?
The middle 50% of Montana State University's enrolled first-years scored 1070–1290 on the SAT and 21–27 on the ACT.
How much does Montana State University cost?
Tuition is $6,731 in-state, plus $14,580 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $8,115.
What is Montana State University's graduation rate?
59.2% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Montana State University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?