ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Maine Common Data Set 2024-25

METest policy: Test-blind: SAT/ACT not considered for admission even if submitted; institutional placement exam usedCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

96.6%

13,572 of 14,044

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1060–1280

ACT middle 50%

21–30

Admissions
AppliedC114,044
AdmittedC113,572
EnrolledC12,093
YieldC115.4%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC916%
Submitted ACTC92%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9530–650
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9520–640
Average high school GPAC123.49
GPA of 4.0C1111.7%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1122%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1124.8%
GPA below 3.50C1141.5%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$12,360
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$35,790
Required feesG1$966
Food and housingG1$13,410
Need fully met (first-years)H230.9%
Average % of need metH278.3%
Average need-based packageH2$19,615
Average need-based grantH2$14,359
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankVery important
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresNot considered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB19,601
First-year retentionB2283.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB55%
Notes on this filing
  • Admissions totals are the sum of the men/women/another gender/unknown counts in C1 (no total printed for applied, admitted or enrolled); they match the residency totals.
  • C2: the filing answers No to having a waitlist policy, so all waitlist counts are left null.
  • C21: early decision not offered; ED application and admit counts are blank.
  • C22: early action offered (nonbinding, closing 12/1, notification 1/15); EA applied and admitted counts are not reported.
  • C8A marks SAT/ACT as 'not considered for admission, even if submitted', while C9 still reports test submission rates. C8F clarification is blank. Policy phrase is based on C8A and C8G.
  • B4-B11: the 4-year graduation rate is not printed for the 2018 cohort (only the six-year rate, 55%), so grad_rate_4yr is null. The six-year rate is taken from the printed H line.
  • G1: public institution; in-district and out-of-district tuition are both $12,360, so tuition_in_state is used. No single tuition figure is printed, so tuition is null.
  • H2: avg_need_based_package is taken from line J (average financial aid package of those awarded any aid), which is not limited to need-based aid. Label mismatch.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed; it is not derived here.
  • H2: pct_need_fully_met = line H (391) / line D (1,264), rounded to one decimal.
  • H1 aid figures are 2024-25 estimated, not final 2023-24.
  • Filing appears to cover University of Maine; the cover page also lists University of Maine at Machias as a regional campus. Figures are not separated by campus.

Similar colleges

More colleges in ME

University of Maine admissions FAQ
What is University of Maine's acceptance rate?
University of Maine admitted 13,572 of 14,044 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 96.6%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of Maine have early decision?
No. University of Maine does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of Maine?
The middle 50% of University of Maine's enrolled first-years scored 1060–1280 on the SAT and 21–30 on the ACT.
How much does University of Maine cost?
Tuition is $12,360 in-state, plus $13,410 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $14,359.
What is University of Maine's graduation rate?
55% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Maine Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?