ClassOfNext
All colleges

Gustavus Adolphus College Common Data Set 2024-25

MNTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required, considered if submitted; not used for advisingCompare with other schools

Acceptance rate

61%

3,229 of 5,294

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

—

ACT middle 50%

24–30

Admissions
AppliedC15,294
AdmittedC13,229
EnrolledC1490
YieldC115.2%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC90%
Submitted ACTC942%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9—
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9—
Average high school GPAC123.61
GPA of 4.0C119.1%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1136.9%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1121.2%
GPA below 3.50C1132.7%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$57,386
Required feesG1$638
Food and housingG1$12,264
Need fully met (first-years)H231.9%
Average % of need metH293%
Average need-based packageH2$48,726
Average need-based grantH2$39,282
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentConsidered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB11,905
First-year retentionB2288%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB77%
Notes on this filing
  • C1-C2: Applied/admitted/enrolled totals taken from printed totals (5294, 3229, 490); gender rows sum to these.
  • C2: waitlist policy answered No and the waitlist count block is blank; all three waitlist fields left null.
  • C8A vs C8F: C8A marks SAT or ACT 'Not required for admission, but consider if submitted'; C8F is blank. Policy phrase is from C8A alone. C8A and C13 refer to Fall 2026 while the data year is Fall 2024; C8A may be a template carryover.
  • C8A: SAT pct is printed as 0 and no SAT score percentiles are reported; ACT is the only test scored.
  • C11: Pct bands taken from the 'all enrolled students' column; the bands sum to 99.9 due to rounding. pct_below_3_50 = 15.3+11.4+5.6+0.4+0+0 = 32.7.
  • C7: Factor values come from the checkbox positions; all nonacademic factors are checked Considered.
  • C6/ED: Early decision not offered (AD_EDEC N). Early action offered (closing 11/1, notification 11/15) but its applicant and admit counts are not printed.
  • B4-B21 (Fall 2018 cohort, bachelor's): 4-year rate not printed; count 416 of 651 initial cohort implies ~63.9%, not reported as a rate, so left null. Six-year rate 77% is printed.
  • G1: Cost uses first-year column. Required fees differ by column (first-year 638 vs all undergraduates 318); first-year figure used. Private institution, so state-tuition fields null.
  • H1/H2: Aid figures are 2023-24 final data (H1 academic year checkbox), while enrollment counts are Fall 2024. H2 used the full-time first-year column.
  • H2: pct_need_fully_met computed as line h (116) / line d (364) = 31.9. avg_pct_need_met uses printed line I (93, first-year column). avg_need_based_package uses line J (average financial aid package, $48,726), which is not explicitly need-based. pct_with_need_awarded_aid uses line d / line c (364/364).
Gustavus Adolphus College admissions FAQ
What is Gustavus Adolphus College's acceptance rate?
Gustavus Adolphus College admitted 3,229 of 5,294 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 61%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does Gustavus Adolphus College have early decision?
No. Gustavus Adolphus College does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
How much does Gustavus Adolphus College cost?
Tuition is $57,386, plus $12,264 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $39,282.
What is Gustavus Adolphus College's graduation rate?
77% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Gustavus Adolphus College Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?