ClassOfNext
All colleges

Hobart William Smith Colleges Common Data Set 2024-25

NYTest policy: Test-optional with no-harm policy: SAT/ACT considered if submitted, used only if they help the applicant; ACT/SAT scores also used for advising.Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

64%

3,778 of 5,904

Early decision rate

51.5%

Non-ED pool: 64.7%

SAT middle 50%

1180–1370

ACT middle 50%

28–32

Admissions
AppliedC15,904
AdmittedC13,778
EnrolledC1553
YieldC114.6%
Early decisionC21158 of 307 (51.5%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC912.8%
Submitted ACTC96.9%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9610–700
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9580–685
Average high school GPAC123.62
GPA of 4.0C1125.7%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1115%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1125.7%
GPA below 3.50C1133.6%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$32,494
Required feesG1$1,854
Food and housingG1$18,210
Need fully met (first-years)H231.8%
Average % of need metH288%
Average need-based packageH2$54,912
Average need-based grantH2$52,299
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceImportant
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB11,794
First-year retentionB2286.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB77.3%
Notes on this filing
  • C1 total applicants, admits and enrollees taken from the C1-C2 residency table totals (5904, 3778, 553); the C1 gender rows sum to the same figures.
  • C2: waitlist policy checked 'No'; waitlist count rows are blank, so all waitlist values are null.
  • C2: waitlist 'ranked' and release questions are unanswered (No checked for ranked).
  • C8A/C8F: SAT or ACT 'not required but considered if submitted'; C8F clarifies test-optional, no-harm policy. Consistent.
  • C21: early decision counts reported (307 applied, 158 admitted); early action offered but no applicant or admit counts printed.
  • B4-B11: 6-year graduation rate (77.30) from Fall 2018 cohort is printed; 4-year rate not printed (D=427 of C=611 is not reported as a rate, so left null).
  • B22 retention 86.40 is printed.
  • H2: aid figures from first-time, first-year column. pct_with_need_awarded_aid not printed and not computed, so null. pct_need_fully_met = 101/318 = 31.8 per rule.
  • H1/H2 aid data are 2023-24 final, while the CDS cover year is 2024-25; G1 costs are labeled 2025-26.
  • G1: private institution; tuition is a single rate, so in-state and out-of-state are null. Required fees and food/housing are first-year figures.
Hobart William Smith Colleges admissions FAQ
What is Hobart William Smith Colleges's acceptance rate?
Hobart William Smith Colleges admitted 3,778 of 5,904 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 64%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Hobart William Smith Colleges's early decision acceptance rate?
Hobart William Smith Colleges admitted 158 of 307 early decision applicants (51.5%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for Hobart William Smith Colleges?
The middle 50% of Hobart William Smith Colleges's enrolled first-years scored 1180–1370 on the SAT and 28–32 on the ACT.
How much does Hobart William Smith Colleges cost?
Tuition is $32,494, plus $18,210 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $52,299.
What is Hobart William Smith Colleges's graduation rate?
77.3% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Hobart William Smith Colleges Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?