ClassOfNext
All colleges

Alfred University Common Data Set 2023-24

NYTest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not required but considered if submitted; SAT used for placement; scores used for advisingCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

48.3%

3,755 of 7,775

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

1110–1280

ACT middle 50%

24–32

Admissions
AppliedC17,775
AdmittedC13,755
EnrolledC1436
YieldC111.6%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC20
Accepted a placeC20
Admitted from waitlistC20
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC926%
Submitted ACTC93%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9540–640
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9560–640
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$40,180
Required feesG1$1,320
Food and housingG1$15,136
Need fully met (first-years)H244.9%
Average % of need metH291.8%
Average need-based packageH2$38,342
Average need-based grantH2$33,457
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankVery important
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresImportant
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewImportant
  • Extracurricular activitiesVery important
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesVery important
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceImportant
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB11,463
First-year retentionB22—
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB54%
Notes on this filing
  • Year set to 2023-24 from the Fall 2023 reporting period on this 2023-24 CDS form.
  • C8: the 'uses SAT/ACT/Subject Test scores in admission decisions' answer is 'No', but the SAT/ACT/SAT-only dropdowns read 'Not required for admission, but considered' and C8F lists TOEFL/IELTS text (truncated). Policy summarized from the dropdowns and C8F; the 'No' answer conflicts and was not followed.
  • Early decision and early action counts are not present in the filing text provided; left null.
  • C11 GPA distribution is not present in the filing text provided; GPA fields left null.
  • Retention rate is not printed in the filing; left null.
  • Four-year graduation rate is not printed (only the six-year rate in Section B); left null.
  • 6-year graduation rate of 54% is from the Fall 2017 bachelor's cohort (H, total column).
  • H2 pct_need_fully_met computed as line h (150) / line d (334) for the first-time full-time freshman column = 44.9. Line d is labeled 'awarded any financial aid' in the filing.
  • pct_with_need_awarded_aid not printed as a percent; left null.
  • Cost: private institution, so tuition given as a single figure; in-state and out-of-state left null. Figures are for the first-year column (2024-25 estimated, per G1).
  • Undergraduate total 1,463 from B1/B2 totals (B1 summed: 657+726+15+27+13+25).

Similar colleges

Austin College

TX · 47.7% admitted · SAT 1120–1300

Compare with Alfred University
Southwestern University

TX · 43.1% admitted · SAT 1140–1290

Compare with Alfred University
Providence College

RI · 50.9% admitted · SAT 1100–1310

Compare with Alfred University
The College of Idaho

ID · 47.2% admitted · SAT ~1080–1270

Compare with Alfred University
Alfred University admissions FAQ
What is Alfred University's acceptance rate?
Alfred University admitted 3,755 of 7,775 first-year applicants for 2023-24, an acceptance rate of 48.3%, according to its Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Alfred University?
The middle 50% of Alfred University's enrolled first-years scored 1110–1280 on the SAT and 24–32 on the ACT.
How many students get off Alfred University's waitlist?
Alfred University offered 0 students a waitlist spot and admitted 0 from it (— of those who stayed on).
How much does Alfred University cost?
Tuition is $40,180, plus $15,136 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $33,457.
What is Alfred University's graduation rate?
54% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Alfred University Common Data Set 2023-24 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?