ClassOfNext
All colleges

Ohio Wesleyan University Common Data Set 2023-24

OHTest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not considered for admission; scores may be submitted and used for placement/credit (e.g., ACT English 30+ exempts ENG 105)Compare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

50.7%

2,892 of 5,708

Early decision rate

54.7%

Non-ED pool: 50.6%

SAT middle 50%

—

ACT middle 50%

—

Admissions
AppliedC15,708
AdmittedC12,892
EnrolledC1428
YieldC114.8%
Early decisionC2141 of 75 (54.7%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC913%
Submitted ACTC931%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9—
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9—
Average high school GPAC123.70
GPA of 4.0C1132%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1121%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1118%
GPA below 3.50C1129%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$53,264
Required feesG1$1,024
Food and housingG1$14,684
Need fully met (first-years)H234.8%
Average % of need metH290.5%
Average need-based packageH2$49,244
Average need-based grantH2$46,436
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresNot considered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentConsidered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB11,452
First-year retentionB2284.3%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB61.7%
Notes on this filing
  • Year given as 2023-24 (CDS 2023-2024 collection; enrollment as of Oct 15, 2023).
  • Admissions: applied, admitted and enrolled totals taken from the C1-C2 residency table (5708 / 2892 / 428); they equal the sums of the gender rows.
  • C2: waitlist block is blank for all three counts (offered, accepted, admitted), though the policy box is marked No. Left null.
  • C7: the 'Recommendation' factor is mapped to recommendations.
  • C8A/C8F: C8A marks SAT/ACT as not considered for admission, and C8F says scores are optional and used for placement/credit. Both sources agree, so the policy is test-optional.
  • C9: percent and number submitting are printed (13% SAT, 56 students; 31% ACT, 131 students), but the percentile score tables are blank. Score percentiles left null.
  • C11: pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99, 2.0-2.49, 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands (10+8+9+2+0+0=29).
  • B4-B11 / retention: the most recent cohort is Fall 2017; the six-year rate is printed as 61.7%. No four-year rate is printed (line D = 248 of 447 is not converted), so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • H2 (first-time, full-time first-year column): pct_need_fully_met = 127 / 365 = 34.8, using line d (365) as the denominator per the instructions. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed, so it is null.
  • G1: private institution, so tuition is $53,264 and in-state/out-of-state are null. Required fees ($1,024) and food and housing ($14,684) are from the first-year column.
  • Aid package and grant averages (H2 J and K) are the first-year figures: J $49,244 and K $46,436.
  • C8G: placement tests used are SAT, ACT, AP and institutional exam (not stated in the policy text).

Similar colleges

Rhodes College

TN · 51.5% admitted · SAT 1360–1470

Compare with Ohio Wesleyan University
Alfred University

NY · 48.3% admitted · SAT 1110–1280

Compare with Ohio Wesleyan University
Centre College

KY · 48.2% admitted · SAT 1203–1410

Compare with Ohio Wesleyan University
Austin College

TX · 47.7% admitted · SAT 1120–1300

Compare with Ohio Wesleyan University
Ohio Wesleyan University admissions FAQ
What is Ohio Wesleyan University's acceptance rate?
Ohio Wesleyan University admitted 2,892 of 5,708 first-year applicants for 2023-24, an acceptance rate of 50.7%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Ohio Wesleyan University's early decision acceptance rate?
Ohio Wesleyan University admitted 41 of 75 early decision applicants (54.7%) for 2023-24.
How much does Ohio Wesleyan University cost?
Tuition is $53,264, plus $14,684 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $46,436.
What is Ohio Wesleyan University's graduation rate?
61.7% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Ohio Wesleyan University Common Data Set 2023-24 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?