ClassOfNext
All colleges

Hofstra University Common Data Set 2024-25

NYTest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT considered if submitted; required for home-schooled and international applicants; AP, CLEP and institutional exams used for placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

68.1%

17,035 of 25,021

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1240–1380

ACT middle 50%

27–32

Admissions
AppliedC125,021
AdmittedC117,035
EnrolledC11,754
YieldC110.3%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2267
Accepted a placeC2117
Admitted from waitlistC223
Odds if you stay on the listC219.7%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC926%
Submitted ACTC94%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9620–700
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9610–700
Average high school GPAC123.78
GPA of 4.0C1136%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1119%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1119%
GPA below 3.50C1126%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$56,545
Required feesG1$1,115
Food and housingG1$18,942
Need fully met (first-years)H220.2%
Average % of need metH269%
Average need-based packageH2$40,983
Average need-based grantH2$31,427
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankVery important
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewImportant
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB16,581
First-year retentionB2284%
4-year graduation rateB59%
6-year graduation rateB69%
Notes on this filing
  • C8A: test policy wording refers to Fall 2026 admissions; C8F clarifies test-optional status and is consistent with the checkbox.
  • C21: early decision not offered, so ED fields are null; C22: early action offered but applied/admitted counts not reported (null).
  • C2: waitlist ranked = No; the three waitlist counts were mapped by position (offered 267, accepted place 117, admitted 23).
  • C1: applicant totals by gender sum to 25,021, matching the total; enrolled total 1,754 matches B1 first-time first-year.
  • H2: first-time, full-time first-year column used. pct_need_fully_met computed as line h / line d = 244/1206 = 20.2%. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed and was not computed (left null).
  • H2 line a (1,590) differs from the B1 first-time full-time first-year count (1,753); reported as printed.
  • B4-B11 cohort: Fall 2018 six-year rate 69% (H), four-year rate 59% (D); Fall 2017 comparison rates were 67% (6-yr) and 57% (4-yr); Fall 2018 cohort used.
  • G1: private institution, so no in-state/out-of-state tuition split; required fees and food and housing from the first-year column.
  • Retention rate is B22: 84% of Fall 2023 first-year full-time cohort enrolled in Fall 2024.
  • Undergraduate total 6,581 is from B1 (all undergraduates, full- and part-time).

Similar colleges

Ithaca College

NY · 69% admitted · SAT 1230–1370

Compare with Hofstra University
Chapman University

CA · 65.4% admitted · SAT 1280–1410

Compare with Hofstra University
Drexel University

PA · 69.9% admitted · SAT 1260–1430

Compare with Hofstra University
University of the Pacific

CA · 71.3% admitted · SAT 1190–1468

Compare with Hofstra University
Hofstra University admissions FAQ
What is Hofstra University's acceptance rate?
Hofstra University admitted 17,035 of 25,021 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 68.1%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does Hofstra University have early decision?
No. Hofstra University does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Hofstra University?
The middle 50% of Hofstra University's enrolled first-years scored 1240–1380 on the SAT and 27–32 on the ACT.
How many students get off Hofstra University's waitlist?
Hofstra University offered 267 students a waitlist spot and admitted 23 from it (19.7% of those who stayed on).
How much does Hofstra University cost?
Tuition is $56,545, plus $18,942 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $31,427.
What is Hofstra University's graduation rate?
59% of students graduate in four years and 69% within six years.

Source: Hofstra University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?