All colleges
Michigan State University Common Data Set 2025-26
MITest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required; test scores also used for academic advising and placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy
Acceptance rate
83.2%
52,411 of 62,965
Early decision rate
No ED
SAT middle 50%
1100–1310
ACT middle 50%
25–31
Who got into Michigan State University: GPA and SAT of reported applicants
Accepted 102Waitlisted 0Rejected 2Preview
Self-reported by 104 applicants on Reddit, so it leans toward strong applicants and isn't Michigan State University's official data. 3 with lower scores are off the chart but counted in the table. See your chances
See who got into Michigan State University
GPA and SAT of 104 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.
Unlock for $39, one timeAdmissions
| AppliedC1 | 62,965 |
| AdmittedC1 | 52,411 |
| EnrolledC1 | 9,355 |
| YieldC1 | 17.8% |
| Early decisionC21 | Not offered |
| Early actionC22 | Offered, counts not reported |
Waitlist
| Offered a placeC2 | 4,241 |
| Accepted a placeC2 | — |
| Admitted from waitlistC2 | 2,254 |
| Odds if you stay on the listC2 | — |
Test scores and GPA
| Submitted SATC9 | 51.5% |
| Submitted ACTC9 | 6.8% |
| SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9 | 550–660 |
| SAT Math (25th–75th)C9 | 530–660 |
| Average high school GPAC12 | 3.74 |
| GPA of 4.0C11 | 24.4% |
| GPA 3.75–3.99C11 | 28.1% |
| GPA 3.50–3.74C11 | 23.8% |
| GPA below 3.50C11 | 23.7% |
Cost and financial aid
| Tuition, in-stateG1 | $16,916 |
| Tuition, out-of-stateG1 | $44,300 |
| Required feesG1 | $340 |
| Food and housingG1 | $12,928 |
| Need fully met (first-years)H2 | 13.6% |
| Average % of need metH2 | 61% |
| Average need-based packageH2 | $18,115 |
| Average need-based grantH2 | $13,950 |
What admissions looks at
- Rigor of secondary school recordImportant
- Class rankNot considered
- Academic GPAVery important
- Standardized test scoresConsidered
- Application essayImportant
- Recommendation(s)Not considered
- InterviewConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- Talent/abilityConsidered
- Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni/ae relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestConsidered
From item C7.
Outcomes
| UndergraduatesB1 | 41,415 |
| First-year retentionB22 | 91% |
| 4-year graduation rateB | — |
| 6-year graduation rateB | 81% |
Notes on this filing
- Applied, admitted and enrolled are the C1 sums of men, women and unknown (62965, 52411, 9355); they match the residency table totals in C2.
- C2: 'Number accepting a place on the waiting list' is blank, so waitlist_accepted_place is null. Waitlist counts map by position: offered 4241, admitted 2254.
- C21: early decision not offered (No). C22: early action offered, but no early action applicant or admit counts are printed.
- C8A: SAT or ACT is 'not required, but consider if submitted'. C8F is blank, so the policy is taken from C8A alone.
- C7: Rigor and essay are 'important'; GPA is 'very important'; class rank and recommendations are 'not considered'.
- B4-B11: the Fall 2019 cohort was used (the most recent). The 6-year rate of 80.99 is printed (H). The 4-year rate is not printed; D/C would be 5250/8470 but was not reported, so it is null.
- B22: retention rate is printed as 91 (percent of Fall 2024 entering cohort still enrolled as of Fall 2025).
- G1: in-district tuition is blank. The 16916 in-state figure is labeled 'In-state (out-of-district)', so it is used as in-state. Tuition is null because the school is public.
- G1 costs are the 2026-27 first-year figures; the form marks the final costs as available 07/01.
- H2 line c/d: pct_with_need_awarded_aid = line d (3881) / line c (4007) = 96.9. pct_need_fully_met = line h (529) / line d (3881) = 13.6. Both use the first-time, first-year column.
- H2 line J (18115) is the average financial aid package for all awarded students, so it is used as avg_need_based_package. It is not strictly need-based.
- Form header on C-section/I-3 reads 'Common Data Set 2024-2025' while other sections read 2025-2026. Year is taken as 2025-26 from the cover and most sections.
Source: Michigan State University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.