ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Massachusetts Boston Common Data Set 2023-24

MATest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not required, considered for some; latest score date 02/15/2024Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

83%

17,353 of 20,918

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

1090–1290

ACT middle 50%

24–30

Admissions
AppliedC120,918
AdmittedC117,353
EnrolledC12,463
YieldC114.2%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2695
Accepted a placeC254
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC928%
Submitted ACTC92%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9540–650
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9540–640
Average high school GPAC123.50
GPA of 4.0C1120%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1113%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1113%
GPA below 3.50C1153%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$14,905
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$36,581
Required feesG1$786
Food and housingG1$17,512
Need fully met (first-years)H227.4%
Average % of need metH285.3%
Average need-based packageH2$20,912
Average need-based grantH2$13,815
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankNot considered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB112,234
First-year retentionB2273%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB51%
Notes on this filing
  • C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals taken from the Out-of-State/International/Total column (20,918 / 17,353 / 2,463); these equal Men + Women.
  • C2: the waitlist block prints only two counts (695 offered, 54 accepted); the third (admitted from waitlist) is blank. The waitlist policy dropdown is not visible.
  • C21: early decision fields are blank, so early decision offered status is unknown.
  • C22: early action is marked Yes with a closing date of 4/30 in the layout; applied, admitted and enrolled counts are not printed, and the notification date is blank.
  • C8: the test-policy clarification box (C8F) is blank; the policy summary relies on the C8 checkbox and the 02/15/2024 date.
  • B4-B22: 4-year graduation rate is not printed (only the 6-year rate, 51% for the 2017 cohort), so grad_rate_4yr is null. Retention is 73% (item B22).
  • H2: fully-met percentage computed as line H (463) divided by line D (1,687), the number awarded any aid among students with financial need, rounded to one decimal. The 'percent with need awarded aid' is not stated, so it is null.
  • G1: public tuition is in-district/in-state $14,905 and out-of-state $36,581; food and housing is on-campus $17,512.
  • I2: the filing's student-to-faculty ratio base (12,943 students) differs from B1 total undergraduates (12,234); reported as printed.
University of Massachusetts Boston admissions FAQ
What is University of Massachusetts Boston's acceptance rate?
University of Massachusetts Boston admitted 17,353 of 20,918 first-year applicants for 2023-24, an acceptance rate of 83%, according to its Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of Massachusetts Boston?
The middle 50% of University of Massachusetts Boston's enrolled first-years scored 1090–1290 on the SAT and 24–30 on the ACT.
How much does University of Massachusetts Boston cost?
Tuition is $14,905 in-state, plus $17,512 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $13,815.
What is University of Massachusetts Boston's graduation rate?
51% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Massachusetts Boston Common Data Set 2023-24 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?