ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Massachusetts Lowell Common Data Set 2024-25

MATest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted; applicants choose whether scores are used; AP, CLEP and institutional exams used for placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

83%

11,345 of 13,676

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1200–1360

ACT middle 50%

25–32

Admissions
AppliedC113,676
AdmittedC111,345
EnrolledC12,011
YieldC117.7%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2572
Accepted a placeC2240
Admitted from waitlistC245
Odds if you stay on the listC218.8%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC927%
Submitted ACTC92%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9590–680
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9590–690
Average high school GPAC123.72
GPA of 4.0C1132.6%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1115.8%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1115.3%
GPA below 3.50C1136.4%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1—
Required feesG1—
Food and housingG1—
Need fully met (first-years)H239.1%
Average % of need metH293%
Average need-based packageH2$21,281
Average need-based grantH2$17,059
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresImportant
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB112,122
First-year retentionB2284%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB65%
Notes on this filing
  • Year shown as 2024-25 (the filing's Common Data Set 2024-2025 cycle); the schema example suggests a different format, so this is the filing's own label.
  • C1: total applicants (13,676), admits (11,345) and enrolled (2,011) are printed in the residency table and match the sums of the gender rows; the enrolled figure includes 2 another-gender students.
  • C21: early decision not offered; C22: early action offered (closing Feb 5, notification Dec 10) but early action applicant and admit counts are not printed.
  • C8A and C8F agree: scores are considered only if submitted, and applicants may opt in or out.
  • C11: GPA bands use the 'Percent (All enrolled students)' column. pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99, 2.0-2.49, 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands (36.35).
  • B4-B11: the most recent cohort is Fall 2018. Its four-year completion count (922 of 2,072) is printed but no four-year rate is given, so grad_rate_4yr is null. The six-year rate of 65% is printed.
  • H2: the first-time, full-time first-year column is used. pct_need_fully_met = 531 / 1,358 = 39.1%, computed from line h over line d. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed, so it is null.
  • B22: the 84% retention rate is for the Fall 2023 entering cohort.
  • G1 cost and tuition data are not in this filing; all cost fields are null.
  • Early decision and early action applicant/admit counts are not reported.
University of Massachusetts Lowell admissions FAQ
What is University of Massachusetts Lowell's acceptance rate?
University of Massachusetts Lowell admitted 11,345 of 13,676 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 83%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of Massachusetts Lowell have early decision?
No. University of Massachusetts Lowell does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of Massachusetts Lowell?
The middle 50% of University of Massachusetts Lowell's enrolled first-years scored 1200–1360 on the SAT and 25–32 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of Massachusetts Lowell's waitlist?
University of Massachusetts Lowell offered 572 students a waitlist spot and admitted 45 from it (18.8% of those who stayed on).
What is University of Massachusetts Lowell's graduation rate?
65% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Massachusetts Lowell Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?