ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Utah Common Data Set 2024-25

UTTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required for admission but considered if submitted; C8F clarification blankCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

86%

23,062 of 26,822

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1200–1370

ACT middle 50%

22–29

Admissions
AppliedC126,822
AdmittedC123,062
EnrolledC16,001
YieldC126%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC910%
Submitted ACTC938%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9600–690
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9590–690
Average high school GPAC123.67
GPA of 4.0C1110%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1138%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1125%
GPA below 3.50C1127%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1—
Required feesG1—
Food and housingG1—
Need fully met (first-years)H2—
Average % of need metH2—
Average need-based packageH2—
Average need-based grantH2—
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB128,064
First-year retentionB2286%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB65%
Notes on this filing
  • Applied, admitted and enrolled totals are first-time, first-year degree-seeking students; they match the sums of the C1 men and women rows and the C1-C2 residency table (26822 / 23062 / 6001).
  • C2: the waitlist policy is marked No and all waitlist counts are blank, so waitlist fields are null.
  • C21: early decision is marked No; ED application and admit counts are blank.
  • C22: early action is offered (nonbinary, not restrictive), but EA applicant and admit counts are not reported.
  • C8A: SAT/ACT marked 'not required, consider if submitted'; C8F clarification is blank. C8G lists AP, CLEP and institutional exams for placement only, not admission.
  • C8E latest SAT/ACT receipt date is April 1 (4/1).
  • B4-B21: the most recent cohort is Fall 2018. The printed six-year rate (line H) is 65.00. The four-year rate is not printed, so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • C11: GPA below 3.50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49 (18), 3.00-3.24 (7), 2.50-2.99 (2) and lower bands (0), giving 27. The bands total 100.
  • The cost (G) and aid (H) sections are not included in the provided filing, so those fields are null.
  • Under B22, the retention rate (86.00) is for the Fall 2023 full-time first-time cohort.
University of Utah admissions FAQ
What is University of Utah's acceptance rate?
University of Utah admitted 23,062 of 26,822 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 86%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of Utah have early decision?
No. University of Utah does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of Utah?
The middle 50% of University of Utah's enrolled first-years scored 1200–1370 on the SAT and 22–29 on the ACT.
What is University of Utah's graduation rate?
65% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Utah Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?