ClassOfNext
All colleges

George Mason University Common Data Set 2024-25

VATest policy: Test-optional: self-reported SAT/ACT may be used holistically; official scores required before the first day of classes if submittedCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

87.5%

22,074 of 25,234

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

1170–1350

ACT middle 50%

25–30

Who got into George Mason University: GPA and SAT of reported applicants

See who got into George Mason University

GPA and SAT of 50 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.

Unlock from $9.90/month
Admissions
AppliedC125,234
AdmittedC122,074
EnrolledC14,464
YieldC120.2%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC21,248
Accepted a placeC2843
Admitted from waitlistC2219
Odds if you stay on the listC226%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC919%
Submitted ACTC92%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9580–680
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9580–680
Average high school GPAC123.69
GPA of 4.0C1128%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1123%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1122%
GPA below 3.50C1128%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$14,316
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$39,312
Required feesG1$3,924
Food and housingG1$16,156
Need fully met (first-years)H27.3%
Average % of need metH269.6%
Average need-based packageH2$20,474
Average need-based grantH2$11,226
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankNot considered
  • Academic GPAImportant
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB128,331
First-year retentionB2286%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB68%
Notes on this filing
  • Admissions figures are first-time, first-year degree-seeking students; applied total 25234 is printed (men+women+another gender sums to 25233).
  • C1/C2: enrollment reported as 4464 (EN_TOT_1ST_N); the filing also prints 194 international and 660 out-of-state among enrollees.
  • C2 waitlist: three counts mapped by position: offered 1248, accepted place 843, admitted from waitlist 219. Waitlist is not ranked.
  • C8A: Yes/No and policy checkboxes appear unmarked; policy taken from C8F clarification text. C8D: no academic advising use. C8G placement tests: AP, CLEP and institutional exam.
  • Early decision: C21 Yes/No appears unchecked and no ED counts or dates are entered, although a hidden field is flagged Y; offered left null.
  • Early action: offered per C22 (Yes); EA applicant and admit counts not reported.
  • C7: class rank and interview marked not considered; level of interest not considered.
  • C11: GPA band percentages total 101, not 100 as required; pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99 and lower bands (28).
  • Graduation: most recent cohort is Fall 2018 (B4-B11). Six-year rate 68.00 is printed. Four-year rate is not printed (only counts 1699 of 3663), so it is left null.
  • Retention 86 is from B22 (Fall 2023 cohort, Fall 2024 retention).
  • Cost: public institution; tuition shown in-state and out-of-state only, so tuition is null. Room and board is the food and housing figure (16156).
  • Aid (H1/H2): filing reports 2023-24 final figures, not 2024-25. Aid stats use first-time first-year column. pct_need_fully_met = 172 / 2356 (H2 line d, printed as 'awarded any financial aid') = 7.3%. pct_with_need_awarded_aid not printed as a percent, so null. avg_need_based_package uses H2 line J (average financial aid package, not labelled need-based).
George Mason University admissions FAQ
What is George Mason University's acceptance rate?
George Mason University admitted 22,074 of 25,234 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 87.5%, according to its Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for George Mason University?
The middle 50% of George Mason University's enrolled first-years scored 1170–1350 on the SAT and 25–30 on the ACT.
How many students get off George Mason University's waitlist?
George Mason University offered 1,248 students a waitlist spot and admitted 219 from it (26% of those who stayed on).
How much does George Mason University cost?
Tuition is $14,316 in-state, plus $16,156 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $11,226.
What is George Mason University's graduation rate?
68% of students graduate within six years.

Source: George Mason University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?