ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Mary Washington Common Data Set 2024-25

VATest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required (C8A); no test-based advising (C8D); C8F clarification left blankCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

79.8%

4,088 of 5,124

Early decision rate

86.4%

Non-ED pool: 79.6%

SAT middle 50%

1180–1340

ACT middle 50%

27–31

Admissions
AppliedC15,124
AdmittedC14,088
EnrolledC1725
YieldC117.7%
Early decisionC2195 of 110 (86.4%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2436
Accepted a placeC299
Admitted from waitlistC222
Odds if you stay on the listC222.2%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC926%
Submitted ACTC94%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9610–710
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9560–660
Average high school GPAC123.75
GPA of 4.0C1132.1%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1122.8%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1116.3%
GPA below 3.50C1128.8%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$9,390
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$22,965
Required feesG1$5,900
Food and housingG1$15,150
Need fully met (first-years)H215.6%
Average % of need metH254.5%
Average need-based packageH2$14,699
Average need-based grantH2$5,722
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB13,660
First-year retentionB2284.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB66.4%
Notes on this filing
  • Year label taken from the form title (Common Data Set 2024-2025); cost data (G1) are 2025-26 estimated values per the G preamble ('7/1 - The below costs are estimated').
  • C8F clarification is blank; test policy is from C8A checkboxes only.
  • C5/C6 not used in output; C3 high school completion: diploma required, GED accepted.
  • C9 percent submitting is printed as 26% SAT and 4% ACT; ACT Writing not reported.
  • C11 below-3.50 is the sum of the printed bands 3.25-3.49 (13.5), 3.00-3.24 (8.7), 2.50-2.99 (5.7) and 2.00-2.49 (0.9) = 28.8.
  • C16/C17: decision notification 4/1; reply by May 1 or within 2 weeks of notification.
  • C21/C22: early decision applied 110 and admitted 95 are reported; early action applied and admitted counts are not reported (C22 has only dates and restrictive policy = No).
  • C2: waitlist rows mapped by position: offered 436, accepted place 99, admitted 22.
  • Graduation: most recent bachelor's cohort is Fall 2018 (B4-B11). The 4-year rate is not printed; only the completer count (528 of 920) is given, so grad_rate_4yr is null. 6-year rate 66.41 is printed.
  • Cost: in-district tuition (9,390) placed in tuition_in_state because the in-state (out-of-district) row is blank; the form labels it 'In-district'.
  • Aid: H2 first-time, first-year column used. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed (only counts 346 with need and 346 awarded aid), so null. pct_need_fully_met = 54/346 = 15.6 per the computation rule. avg_need_based_package uses H2 line J (average financial aid package), which the form does not label need-based only.
  • Aid (H1/H2/H2A/H5/H6) reflects the 2023-2024 final academic year, not 2024-25; the filing marks 2023-2024 Final.
  • Undergraduate total 3,660 is from B1/B2 totals; B1 total all students is 3,826.
University of Mary Washington admissions FAQ
What is University of Mary Washington's acceptance rate?
University of Mary Washington admitted 4,088 of 5,124 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 79.8%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is University of Mary Washington's early decision acceptance rate?
University of Mary Washington admitted 95 of 110 early decision applicants (86.4%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for University of Mary Washington?
The middle 50% of University of Mary Washington's enrolled first-years scored 1180–1340 on the SAT and 27–31 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of Mary Washington's waitlist?
University of Mary Washington offered 436 students a waitlist spot and admitted 22 from it (22.2% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of Mary Washington cost?
Tuition is $9,390 in-state, plus $15,150 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $5,722.
What is University of Mary Washington's graduation rate?
66.4% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Mary Washington Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?