ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Scranton Common Data Set 2025-26

PATest policy: Test-recommended: SAT or ACT recommended (considered if submitted); scores also used for academic advising; latest receipt date March 1Compare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

80.1%

7,666 of 9,575

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1160–1300

ACT middle 50%

27–31

Admissions
AppliedC19,575
AdmittedC17,666
EnrolledC1916
YieldC111.9%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2698
Accepted a placeC2139
Admitted from waitlistC216
Odds if you stay on the listC211.5%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC929%
Submitted ACTC94%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9580–670
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9560–650
Average high school GPAC123.58
GPA of 4.0C1119%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1123.9%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1126.5%
GPA below 3.50C1130.6%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$56,860
Required feesG1$500
Food and housingG1$18,346
Need fully met (first-years)H227.3%
Average % of need metH270.2%
Average need-based packageH2$45,044
Average need-based grantH2$16,119
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankVery important
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresVery important
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB13,689
First-year retentionB2287.2%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB81.8%
Notes on this filing
  • C1: no grand total printed for applicants/admits/enrollees; totals taken from the residency table (9,575 / 7,666 / 916), which equal the sums of the sex columns.
  • C2: waitlist rows are unlabeled in the PDF; mapped by position to offered (698), accepted a place (139), admitted (16). Ranked waitlist: No.
  • C4/C5: high school diploma required, GED accepted; college-prep program recommended.
  • C8A/C8F: SAT or ACT marked Recommended; C8F clarification box is blank. Summary is based on C8A alone.
  • C8E: latest SAT/ACT receipt date March 1. C8G: institutional exam used for placement.
  • C9: percent submitting SAT (29%) and ACT (4%) are shares of all enrolled first-time students. ACT Writing has no values.
  • C11: GPA bands are the 'Percent (All enrolled students)' column. Printed bands total 100.01% due to rounding. pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99 and 2.00-2.49 bands (30.57); the 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands are 0.
  • C11: GPA breakdown uses the all-enrolled column; separate submitter/non-submitter values were not used.
  • C21/C22: early decision not offered. Early action is non-binding (closing 11/15, notification 12/15). ED and EA application and admit counts are not reported.
  • B4-B11: grad_rate_6yr uses the Fall 2019 bachelor's cohort (printed rate 81.8%). The 4-year rate is not printed; the 765 four-year completers were not converted to a rate, so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • B22: retention 87.2% as printed (760 of 872).
  • G1: private institution with one tuition rate; in-state and out-of-state fields are null. Room and board is the food and housing figure ($18,346).
  • H2: first-time full-time column used. The pct_with_need_awarded_aid item has no matching printed figure, so it is null. pct_need_fully_met = 165 / 605 = 27.3%. Aid data are for 2024-25 final (H1/H2 year checkbox).
  • H1/H2: avg_need_based_package is line J (first-time) $45,044 and avg_need_based_grant is line K (first-time) $16,119.

Similar colleges

Messiah University

PA · 81.1% admitted · SAT 1150–1350

Compare with University of Scranton
DeSales University

PA · 78.7% admitted · SAT 1120–1300

Compare with University of Scranton
Arcadia University

PA · 79.2% admitted · SAT 1095–1310

Compare with University of Scranton
Susquehanna University

PA · 79.1% admitted · SAT 1100–1290

Compare with University of Scranton
Duquesne University

PA · 86.4% admitted · SAT 1130–1333

Compare with University of Scranton
University of Scranton admissions FAQ
What is University of Scranton's acceptance rate?
University of Scranton admitted 7,666 of 9,575 first-year applicants for 2025-26, an acceptance rate of 80.1%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of Scranton have early decision?
No. University of Scranton does not offer early decision, per its 2025-26 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of Scranton?
The middle 50% of University of Scranton's enrolled first-years scored 1160–1300 on the SAT and 27–31 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of Scranton's waitlist?
University of Scranton offered 698 students a waitlist spot and admitted 16 from it (11.5% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of Scranton cost?
Tuition is $56,860, plus $18,346 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $16,119.
What is University of Scranton's graduation rate?
81.8% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Scranton Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?