ClassOfNext
All colleges

Allegheny College Common Data Set 2025-26

PATest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not required for admission but considered if submitted; not required for some students; only highest section scores across SAT dates consideredCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

58.8%

3,615 of 6,151

Early decision rate

49.6%

Non-ED pool: 59%

SAT middle 50%

1155–1360

ACT middle 50%

21.25–28

Admissions
AppliedC16,151
AdmittedC13,615
EnrolledC1311
YieldC18.6%
Early decisionC2167 of 135 (49.6%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2220
Accepted a placeC2220
Admitted from waitlistC23
Odds if you stay on the listC21.4%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC930.5%
Submitted ACTC99%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9610–695
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9540–660
Average high school GPAC123.59
GPA of 4.0C1116.6%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1125.7%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1123.6%
GPA below 3.50C1134.1%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$59,050
Required feesG1$740
Food and housingG1$15,760
Need fully met (first-years)H228.6%
Average % of need metH289%
Average need-based packageH2$50,071
Average need-based grantH2$37,317
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresImportant
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB11,125
First-year retentionB2280.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB70%
Notes on this filing
  • Academic year taken as 2025-26: H101 reports 2025-2026 estimated aid data and the admissions data are for Fall 2025 entrants.
  • C2: waitlist block printed without full labels; mapped by position: offered 220, accepted place 220, admitted from waitlist 3.
  • C21: early decision offered (Yes); applied 135 and admitted 67 for the Fall 2025 class. ED closing and notification dates are printed as late 2026 and early 2026, which do not fit a Fall 2025 entering class.
  • C22: early action offered (Yes), but early action applicant and admit counts are not reported. Early action notification date (Dec 31, 2025) is printed as earlier than the closing date (Nov 30, 2026).
  • C8A/C8F/C8: SAT/ACT policy is test-optional in both the C8A/C8 table and the C8F clarification; they agree.
  • C11: GPA bands taken from the 'All enrolled students' column. The 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands are blank. pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99 and 2.0-2.49 bands (14.2+12.2+7.4+0.3).
  • G1: private institution, single tuition so in-state and out-of-state are null. Fees and food/housing use the first-year column. Food and housing (on-campus) 15760 is double occupancy with 19 meals per week or the maximum plan.
  • B4-B21: the 4-year graduation rate for the 2019 cohort is not printed, so grad_rate_4yr is null. The six-year rate of 70 is printed (H line / B.432).
  • H2: aid uses the first-time, full-time first-year column. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed as a percent, so it is null. pct_need_fully_met = 67/234 = 28.6. avg_pct_need_met is 0.8909 printed, shown as 89 (nearest 1%).
  • B22: retention rate 0.8037 is printed for the Fall 2024 entering cohort, shown as 80.4.

Similar colleges

Washington College

MD · 56.9% admitted · SAT 1155–1340

Compare with Allegheny College
Wabash College

IN · 57.1% admitted · SAT 1130–1335

Compare with Allegheny College
DePauw University

IN · 57.2% admitted · SAT 1130–1350

Compare with Allegheny College
University of the South

TN · 56.4% admitted · SAT 1210–1360

Compare with Allegheny College
Drury University

MO · 58.9% admitted · SAT 1040–1330

Compare with Allegheny College
Allegheny College admissions FAQ
What is Allegheny College's acceptance rate?
Allegheny College admitted 3,615 of 6,151 first-year applicants for 2025-26, an acceptance rate of 58.8%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Allegheny College's early decision acceptance rate?
Allegheny College admitted 67 of 135 early decision applicants (49.6%) for 2025-26.
What SAT score do you need for Allegheny College?
The middle 50% of Allegheny College's enrolled first-years scored 1155–1360 on the SAT and 21.25–28 on the ACT.
How many students get off Allegheny College's waitlist?
Allegheny College offered 220 students a waitlist spot and admitted 3 from it (1.4% of those who stayed on).
How much does Allegheny College cost?
Tuition is $59,050, plus $15,760 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $37,317.
What is Allegheny College's graduation rate?
70% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Allegheny College Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?