ClassOfNext
All colleges

Gettysburg College Common Data Set 2024-25

PATest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required but considered if submitted; C8F clarification blankCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

38.9%

3,254 of 8,366

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

~1270–1460

ACT middle 50%

29–32

Admissions
AppliedC18,366
AdmittedC13,254
EnrolledC1508
YieldC115.6%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC927%
Submitted ACTC98%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9640–720
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9630–740
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$68,970
Required feesG1$0
Food and housingG1$16,670
Need fully met (first-years)H290.2%
Average % of need metH290%
Average need-based packageH2$59,316
Average need-based grantH2$55,859
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresImportant
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewImportant
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB12,104
First-year retentionB2291.1%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB83%
Notes on this filing
  • Applicants, admits and enrolled are first-time first-year totals from C1 (men + women; no other gender reported). Residency breakdown is only total-level.
  • C2: waitlist policy marked Yes but all three waitlist counts are blank.
  • C7: 'Class rank' and other factors mapped from checkbox columns; 'Considered' and 'Not Considered' are separate columns.
  • C8A: check mark appears in the 'Not required for admission, but considered if submitted' column for SAT or ACT; C8F clarification is blank.
  • C9: only the SAT composite median (1370) is printed; 25th and 75th percentiles are blank.
  • C10 (class rank) and C11 (GPA bands) are blank; C12 shows 0.00 and 0.00%, which appears to be unreported rather than a true value, so average GPA and percent submitting are null.
  • C21/C22: early decision and early action deadlines are given, but the number of early decision applications and admits is blank; early action applied/admitted also blank.
  • Grad rate 4-year: not printed on the filing. Fall 2018 cohort counts (559 of 744 final cohort) are available, but no rate is stated, so it is left null.
  • Grad rate 6-year: 83% from the Fall 2018 cohort total (line H). The 2018 cohort was used per the instruction to prefer the most recent cohort.
  • Aid: pct_with_need_awarded_aid not printed as a percent; counts are 255 of 255 determined to have need and awarded aid in the first-year column. Left null. pct_need_fully_met computed as 230/255 (H2 line h / line d) = 90.2.
  • Aid: avg_need_based_grant uses H2 line k for need-based scholarship/grant award; avg_need_based_package uses line j.
  • B3 bachelor's degrees awarded (554) differ from J1 bachelor's total (696); J1 counts majors including second majors, so the difference is expected.
  • G1: private institution, single tuition figure of $68,970; in-state and out-of-state fields left null.

Similar colleges

Dickinson College

PA · 42.1% admitted · SAT 1330–1440

Compare with Gettysburg College
Whitman College

WA · 38.1% admitted · SAT 1330–1470

Compare with Gettysburg College
Furman University

SC · 42.9% admitted · SAT 1280–1418

Compare with Gettysburg College
Union College

NY · 43.8% admitted · SAT 1330–1460

Compare with Gettysburg College
Trinity College

CT · 33.5% admitted · SAT 1350–1440

Compare with Gettysburg College
Gettysburg College admissions FAQ
What is Gettysburg College's acceptance rate?
Gettysburg College admitted 3,254 of 8,366 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 38.9%, according to its Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Gettysburg College?
The middle 50% of Gettysburg College's enrolled first-years scored about 1270–1460 on the SAT and 29–32 on the ACT.
How much does Gettysburg College cost?
Tuition is $68,970, plus $16,670 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $55,859.
What is Gettysburg College's graduation rate?
83% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Gettysburg College Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?