ClassOfNext
All colleges

Furman University Common Data Set 2024-25

SCTest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not required, considered if submitted; scores also used for advising (C8F clarification blank)Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

42.9%

4,644 of 10,813

Early decision rate

24.8%

Non-ED pool: 43.8%

SAT middle 50%

1280–1418

ACT middle 50%

28–32

Admissions
AppliedC110,813
AdmittedC14,644
EnrolledC1608
YieldC113.1%
Early decisionC21125 of 504 (24.8%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC927.3%
Submitted ACTC921.9%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9650–720
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9610–710
Average high school GPAC123.67
GPA of 4.0C1119.7%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1130.1%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1121.1%
GPA below 3.50C1129.1%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$61,034
Required feesG1$410
Food and housingG1$17,164
Need fully met (first-years)H237.5%
Average % of need metH284.5%
Average need-based packageH2$46,054
Average need-based grantH2$44,101
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB12,383
First-year retentionB2291%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB78.8%
Notes on this filing
  • Year: Fall 2024 enrollment and admissions data; H1 aid year checkbox is ambiguous, and G1 costs are 2025-26 figures marked as not yet final.
  • C1: total applicants, admits and enrollees taken as printed; they match the sums of the gender rows.
  • C2: waitlist policy checkbox is ambiguous and all waitlist counts are blank, so all waitlist fields are null.
  • C21/C22: early decision and early action are marked offered based on the printed plan dates; EA applicant and admit counts are blank.
  • C21/C22: ED and EA date fields are inconsistent (e.g., EA notification Jan 14 2025 precedes the EA closing date Nov 14 2025; ED closing Oct 31 2025 is after the fall 2024 cycle).
  • C7: checkbox column positions inferred from text layout; 'Rigor' and 'GPA' read as very important, others as printed.
  • C8A/C8F: C8F is blank; policy summarized from the C8A checkbox (not required, considered if submitted).
  • C11: pct_below_3_50 is the sum of printed bands 3.25-3.49 (16.9), 3.00-3.24 (9.4), and 2.50-2.99 (2.8); the 2.0 and below bands are blank.
  • C12: pct_submitting taken from 'Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA: 100'.
  • B4-B11 Fall 2018 cohort: 4-year rate not printed (4-year completers 519 of 711 would be 73.0% if calculated, but not reported, so null). 6-year rate is H total 0.7876... converted to percent.
  • B22: retention rate of 91 taken as printed.
  • H2: first-time full-time first-year column used. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed (line d/line c would be 100%), so null. pct_need_fully_met is computed as line h (115) divided by line d (307), rounded to one decimal.
  • H1: 2023-24 vs 2024-25 aid year checkbox is unclear; H6 nonresident aid figures are not used in the schema.
  • G1: costs are marked as not final for 2025-26; values are as printed. Tuition is a single rate, so in-state and out-of-state are null.

Similar colleges

Dickinson College

PA · 42.1% admitted · SAT 1330–1440

Compare with Furman University
Bentley University

MA · 45.1% admitted · SAT 1290–1403

Compare with Furman University
Union College

NY · 43.8% admitted · SAT 1330–1460

Compare with Furman University
Gettysburg College

PA · 38.9% admitted · SAT ~1270–1460

Compare with Furman University
Loyola Marymount University

CA · 45.1% admitted · SAT 1280–1400

Compare with Furman University
St. Olaf College

MN · 48.3% admitted · SAT 1310–1460

Compare with Furman University
Furman University admissions FAQ
What is Furman University's acceptance rate?
Furman University admitted 4,644 of 10,813 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 42.9%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Furman University's early decision acceptance rate?
Furman University admitted 125 of 504 early decision applicants (24.8%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for Furman University?
The middle 50% of Furman University's enrolled first-years scored 1280–1418 on the SAT and 28–32 on the ACT.
How much does Furman University cost?
Tuition is $61,034, plus $17,164 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $44,101.
What is Furman University's graduation rate?
78.8% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Furman University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?