ClassOfNext
All colleges

College of Charleston Common Data Set 2024-25

SCTest policy: Test-flexible: SAT or ACT required for some applicants; applicants may choose to be evaluated without SAT or ACT scoresCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

60%

19,016 of 31,680

Early decision rate

53.5%

Non-ED pool: 60.2%

SAT middle 50%

1150–1300

ACT middle 50%

25–30

Admissions
AppliedC131,680
AdmittedC119,016
EnrolledC12,265
YieldC111.9%
Early decisionC21402 of 752 (53.5%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC23,378
Accepted a placeC21,303
Admitted from waitlistC2491
Odds if you stay on the listC237.7%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC918%
Submitted ACTC911%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9590–670
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9550–640
Average high school GPAC124.00
GPA of 4.0C1148.2%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1119.3%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1115.9%
GPA below 3.50C1116.5%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1—
Required feesG1—
Food and housingG1—
Need fully met (first-years)H2—
Average % of need metH2—
Average need-based packageH2—
Average need-based grantH2—
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceImportant
  • State residencyImportant
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB110,880
First-year retentionB2282%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB65.8%
Notes on this filing
  • Applied, admitted and enrolled totals are first-time, first-year degree-seeking counts from C1 (men + women; no other gender or unknown reported). Enrolled is full-time plus part-time (581+1,679+1+4).
  • C1 early action: plan offered (Yes checked) but applied and admitted counts are not reported.
  • C2: waitlist block printed three counts in order: offered 3,378; accepted place 1,303; admitted 491 (mapped by position).
  • C7: factor ratings taken from the checked columns; C7 notes that factors may differ by program but no program-level detail was given.
  • C8: policy summarized from C8A (SAT or ACT 'Required for some') and C8F (applicants may choose evaluation without scores). Not in conflict; C8F supplies the detail.
  • C9: the row labeled 'Writing' is mapped to sat_erw (the SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing score) and should be read with that caveat.
  • C9 score-range distributions sum to 99.90% for SAT Math and ACT Math; C11 'All enrolled' GPA bands sum to 99.90%.
  • C11: pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the all-enrolled bands below 3.50 (9.0 + 4.6 + 2.8 + 0.1).
  • B4-B21: 6-year graduation rate (65.8) is from the Fall 2018 bachelor's cohort, line H total column, as printed. The 4-year rate is not printed; line D (1,243) over line C (2,195) would give 56.6%, but it was not computed, so the field is null.
  • G1: the 2025-26 cost fields are blank; the filing checks that costs are not yet available (estimated June 2025). All cost fields are null.
  • H2 (need-based aid) is not included in the filing pages provided; all aid fields are null.
College of Charleston admissions FAQ
What is College of Charleston's acceptance rate?
College of Charleston admitted 19,016 of 31,680 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 60%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is College of Charleston's early decision acceptance rate?
College of Charleston admitted 402 of 752 early decision applicants (53.5%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for College of Charleston?
The middle 50% of College of Charleston's enrolled first-years scored 1150–1300 on the SAT and 25–30 on the ACT.
How many students get off College of Charleston's waitlist?
College of Charleston offered 3,378 students a waitlist spot and admitted 491 from it (37.7% of those who stayed on).
What is College of Charleston's graduation rate?
65.8% of students graduate within six years.

Source: College of Charleston Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?