ClassOfNext
All colleges

The College of New Jersey Common Data Set 2024-25

NJTest policy: Test-flexible: SAT or ACT required for some applicants only (7-year medical, 7-year optometry and Nursing programs); otherwise considered if submitted; SAT, ACT, AP and CLEP used for placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

61.5%

7,865 of 12,793

Early decision rate

76.8%

Non-ED pool: 61%

SAT middle 50%

1140–1330

ACT middle 50%

25–30

Admissions
AppliedC112,793
AdmittedC17,865
EnrolledC11,439
YieldC118.3%
Early decisionC21308 of 401 (76.8%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2543
Accepted a placeC220
Admitted from waitlistC212
Odds if you stay on the listC260%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC950%
Submitted ACTC93%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9570–670
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9560–670
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$15,906
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$22,270
Required feesG1$4,492
Food and housingG1$17,292
Need fully met (first-years)H211.2%
Average % of need metH240.8%
Average need-based packageH2$15,884
Average need-based grantH2$15,917
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankVery important
  • Academic GPAImportant
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesVery important
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceImportant
  • State residencyImportant
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workVery important
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestVery important

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB17,433
First-year retentionB2289.7%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB85.3%
Notes on this filing
  • Year label taken from the filing title (Common Data Set 2024-2025); admissions and enrollment figures are Fall 2025.
  • C1: totals printed; applied, admitted and enrolled match sums of male, female and unknown columns.
  • C2: waitlist counts mapped by position (offered 543, accepted place 20, admitted 12); labels were cut off in the PDF.
  • C8: C8A marks SAT or ACT as 'Required for some'; C8F clarifies this applies to 7-year medical, 7-year optometry and Nursing applicants. Consistent with each other.
  • C9: SAT and ACT percentiles reported as printed; ACT math percentiles not included in schema.
  • C11 GPA bands and C12 average GPA are printed as 0.00 with no data; treated as not reported (null).
  • C5/C6 and C10 items not in schema.
  • C21: early decision applied 401 and admitted 308 for Fall 2025 entering class.
  • C22: nonbinding early action plan offered (closing 11/1, notification 1/15); applicant and admit counts not reported.
  • B4-B21: Fall 2019 cohort used. 6-year rate printed as 0.85259213, converted to 85.26. 4-year rate not printed for this cohort (D/C would give about 73.6 but was not stated), so null.
  • B22: retention printed as 89.70%; 1398 of 1559 retained.
  • H2: first-time full-time first-year column used. Percent of students with need who were awarded aid is not printed, so null. Percent fully met computed as line h (83) / line d (742) = 11.2%.
  • H2 line J (average financial aid package, $15,884) is for all aid awarded, not only need-based; used for avg_need_based_package as the closest available item.
  • G1: first-year undergraduate column used; public institution with separate in-district/in-state and out-of-state tuition, so general tuition left null.
  • G1 food and housing 17292 used for room_and_board.
The College of New Jersey admissions FAQ
What is The College of New Jersey's acceptance rate?
The College of New Jersey admitted 7,865 of 12,793 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 61.5%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is The College of New Jersey's early decision acceptance rate?
The College of New Jersey admitted 308 of 401 early decision applicants (76.8%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for The College of New Jersey?
The middle 50% of The College of New Jersey's enrolled first-years scored 1140–1330 on the SAT and 25–30 on the ACT.
How many students get off The College of New Jersey's waitlist?
The College of New Jersey offered 543 students a waitlist spot and admitted 12 from it (60% of those who stayed on).
How much does The College of New Jersey cost?
Tuition is $15,906 in-state, plus $17,292 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $15,917.
What is The College of New Jersey's graduation rate?
85.3% of students graduate within six years.

Source: The College of New Jersey Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?