ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of South Carolina Common Data Set 2024-25

SCTest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT considered if submitted, not required; applicants indicate whether USC should consider their scores. AP, CLEP, institutional and International Baccalaureate exams used for placement.Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

60.2%

31,701 of 52,703

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1190–1350

ACT middle 50%

26–32

Who got into University of South Carolina: GPA and SAT of reported applicants

See who got into University of South Carolina

GPA and SAT of 58 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.

Unlock from $9.90/month
Admissions
AppliedC152,703
AdmittedC131,701
EnrolledC17,272
YieldC122.9%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC27,332
Accepted a placeC22,915
Admitted from waitlistC2500
Odds if you stay on the listC217.2%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC929%
Submitted ACTC915%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9600–680
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9580–680
Average high school GPAC123.69
GPA of 4.0C1116%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1134%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1128%
GPA below 3.50C1122%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$12,288
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$36,976
Required feesG1$400
Food and housingG1$16,376
Need fully met (first-years)H214.8%
Average % of need metH260%
Average need-based packageH2$17,418
Average need-based grantH2$14,644
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordImportant
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresImportant
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB130,187
First-year retentionB2292%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB79%
Notes on this filing
  • Year: filing is labeled Common Data Set 2024-2025; admissions and enrollment are Fall 2024, and aid and cost figures are 2024-25 estimated (H1/H2 final-year box not checked).
  • C1: no total row printed for applicants, admits or enrollees; totals taken from the summed gender rows (20662+32041, 11377+20324, 2724+2+4542+4), which match the residency table totals.
  • C2: waitlist block mapped by position: offered 7332, accepted a place 2915, admitted from waitlist 500.
  • C1: early action applicant and admit counts not printed; early action is nonbinding with a 15-Oct closing date (C22). Early decision not offered (C21).
  • C8: policy phrase combines C8A (SAT/ACT not required but considered if submitted) with the C8F clarification that applicants choose whether scores are considered; the two agree.
  • C9: 25th/50th/75th percentiles are as printed; ACT writing not reported.
  • Grad rate: the filing does not print a 4-year rate for the 2018 cohort (only completion counts), so grad_rate_4yr is null. The 6-year rate (79%) is printed as line H for the Fall 2018 cohort.
  • G1: public institution with in-district tuition of 12,288 and out-of-state 36,976; a single tuition field is left null. Food and housing 16,376 is the on-campus comprehensive figure.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed and was not computed. pct_need_fully_met = 524 / 3,538 = 14.8% (first-time full-time first-year column).
  • C11: GPA bands from the all-enrolled column; below 3.50 = 15 (3.25-3.49) + 6 (3.00-3.24) + 1 (2.50-2.99) + 0 = 22. The 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 rows are blank.
  • H2: avg_need_based_grant uses row K (need-based scholarship/grant average of those in line e).
University of South Carolina admissions FAQ
What is University of South Carolina's acceptance rate?
University of South Carolina admitted 31,701 of 52,703 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 60.2%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of South Carolina have early decision?
No. University of South Carolina does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of South Carolina?
The middle 50% of University of South Carolina's enrolled first-years scored 1190–1350 on the SAT and 26–32 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of South Carolina's waitlist?
University of South Carolina offered 7,332 students a waitlist spot and admitted 500 from it (17.2% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of South Carolina cost?
Tuition is $12,288 in-state, plus $16,376 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $14,644.
What is University of South Carolina's graduation rate?
79% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of South Carolina Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?