ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of North Carolina Wilmington Common Data Set 2024-25

NCTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT required only for weighted HS GPA 2.50–2.79; otherwise optional; SAT or ACT acceptedCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

64.2%

13,101 of 20,393

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1230–1340

ACT middle 50%

24–29

Admissions
AppliedC120,393
AdmittedC113,101
EnrolledC12,754
YieldC121%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC22,050
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2389
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC95%
Submitted ACTC912%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9620–680
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9610–660
Average high school GPAC124.06
GPA of 4.0C1157.1%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1126.3%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1113.6%
GPA below 3.50C112.9%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$4,443
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$21,318
Required feesG1$2,834
Food and housingG1$14,268
Need fully met (first-years)H22.4%
Average % of need metH258%
Average need-based packageH2$11,569
Average need-based grantH2$7,760
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesVery important
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyImportant
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB115,254
First-year retentionB2288.2%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB70.6%
Notes on this filing
  • Year: filing is the 2024-2025 CDS; admissions and enrollment are Fall 2024 data.
  • Admissions applied/admitted/enrolled are totals of the gender rows (C1); printed totals match.
  • C2: waitlist rows are offered 2050, accepted a place N/A (null), admitted 389.
  • C8A: SAT/ACT marked 'Required for some' for Fall 2026; C8F gives the GPA-based rule (weighted GPA 2.50-2.79 must submit; Fall 2026 threshold ACT 17 or SAT 930). C8F text is cut off in the PDF.
  • C8F: the test policy text is truncated at the end of the field.
  • C11: GPA bands sum to 99.9%, not 100%; the totals row was not filled. Below-3.50 is 2.2+0.6+0.1 (2.0 and below blank).
  • B4-B21: 6-year rate from Fall 2018 cohort (70.6%). The 4-year rate is not printed; only completer counts (1,208 of 2,142) are given, so it is null.
  • B22 retention is for the Fall 2023 cohort.
  • Early action: offered but applied and admitted counts not reported. Early decision: not offered.
  • G1: costs are labeled 2024-25 in the free-text note, though the item asks for 2025-26 and the form says 2025-26 costs were not yet available (expected 05/01/2025). Public school: tuition null; in-district/in-state 4,443 and out-of-state 21,318 used. Food and housing 14,268 is the comprehensive figure.
  • H1 aid data are 2023-24 final figures, not 2024-25.
  • H2: aid figures use the first-time, first-year column. Line a (2,694) differs from B1 first-time FT first-year (950+1,802 = 2,752).
  • H2 line h (31 fully met) divided by line d (1,267) = 2.4%. The form field labeled FRSH_FT_ND_MET_P shows 58%, which matches line I, not line h.
  • avg_pct_need_met uses line I (58%). avg_need_based_package uses line J. avg_need_based_grant uses line K.
  • pct_with_need_awarded_aid left null: the filing prints counts only, and no percentage is stated for it.
University of North Carolina Wilmington admissions FAQ
What is University of North Carolina Wilmington's acceptance rate?
University of North Carolina Wilmington admitted 13,101 of 20,393 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 64.2%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of North Carolina Wilmington have early decision?
No. University of North Carolina Wilmington does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of North Carolina Wilmington?
The middle 50% of University of North Carolina Wilmington's enrolled first-years scored 1230–1340 on the SAT and 24–29 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of North Carolina Wilmington's waitlist?
University of North Carolina Wilmington offered 2,050 students a waitlist spot and admitted 389 from it (19% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of North Carolina Wilmington cost?
Tuition is $4,443 in-state, plus $14,268 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $7,760.
What is University of North Carolina Wilmington's graduation rate?
70.6% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of North Carolina Wilmington Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?