ClassOfNext
All colleges

North Carolina Central University Common Data Set 2024-25

NCTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT recommended, not required; scores also used for academic advising (C8D)Compare with other schools

Acceptance rate

87%

15,972 of 18,368

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

—

ACT middle 50%

—

Admissions
AppliedC118,368
AdmittedC115,972
EnrolledC11,753
YieldC111%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC90%
Submitted ACTC90%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9—
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9—
Average high school GPAC123.25
GPA of 4.0C1110.1%
GPA 3.75–3.99C119.7%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1112.7%
GPA below 3.50C1167.6%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$3,728
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$16,764
Required feesG1$2,971
Food and housingG1$13,450
Need fully met (first-years)H23.9%
Average % of need metH258%
Average need-based packageH2$16,448
Average need-based grantH2$12,505
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAImportant
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workNot considered
  • Work experienceNot considered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB16,595
First-year retentionB2272.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB—
Notes on this filing
  • Year: filing is CDS 2024-2025 with Fall 2024 data; H1 is marked 2023-2024 Final while H2 uses the Fall 2024 cohort.
  • C1: gender-column sums (applied 18363, admitted 15971, enrolled 1753 from status rows) differ slightly from residency-table totals (18368, 15972); residency totals used. C1 enrollee totals by gender are blank.
  • C2: policy answered No; waitlist counts left blank.
  • C21/C22: early decision and early action offered boxes are unchecked; no ED/EA data reported.
  • C8A: SAT or ACT marked Recommended; C8F clarification blank. C9 reports 0 submitting SAT and 0 submitting ACT, and percentile tables are blank, which conflicts with the recommended-testing policy.
  • C11: below 1.0 band is blank; the listed bands total 100 without it, so it is treated as zero and excluded from pct_below_3_50 calculation.
  • B1 total undergraduates is 6595; B2 racial/ethnic total is 6606.
  • B4-B11 graduation grids are blank (zeros only); no graduation rates reported.
  • G1: public institution with separate in-district/in-state and out-of-state tuition; first-year column used. Comprehensive tuition and food/housing figure of $19,866 is printed but not used in the separate fields.
  • H2: aid_pct_need_fully_met = line H (52) divided by line D (1324, number awarded any financial aid), since the filing does not print a need-based denominator; line I 0.58 converted to 58%.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid not printed; left null.
North Carolina Central University admissions FAQ
What is North Carolina Central University's acceptance rate?
North Carolina Central University admitted 15,972 of 18,368 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 87%, according to its Common Data Set.
How much does North Carolina Central University cost?
Tuition is $3,728 in-state, plus $13,450 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $12,505.

Source: North Carolina Central University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?