ClassOfNext
All colleges

Coastal Carolina University Common Data Set 2024-25

SCTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT required for some applicants; not required for applicants 22 or older or those applying under the test-optional programCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

75.3%

15,828 of 21,028

Early decision rate

77.1%

Non-ED pool: 75.2%

SAT middle 50%

1070–1210

ACT middle 50%

21–26

Admissions
AppliedC121,028
AdmittedC115,828
EnrolledC12,677
YieldC116.9%
Early decisionC21293 of 380 (77.1%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2181
Accepted a placeC2135
Admitted from waitlistC260
Odds if you stay on the listC244.4%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC923%
Submitted ACTC98%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9530–620
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9520–600
Average high school GPAC123.80
GPA of 4.0C1136.6%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1117.2%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1118.4%
GPA below 3.50C1127.8%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$11,460
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$29,448
Required feesG1$180
Food and housingG1$13,100
Need fully met (first-years)H213.6%
Average % of need metH258.1%
Average need-based packageH2$13,751
Average need-based grantH2$12,950
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayConsidered
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB110,811
First-year retentionB2277.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB48%
Notes on this filing
  • Year given as 2024-25 (CDS 2024-2025 filing; enrollment as of Fall 2024).
  • C1/residency: applied, admitted and enrolled totals match the sum of the gender rows (21,028 / 15,828 / 2,677).
  • C2: waitlist block printed as three counts (181 offered, 135 accepted a place, 60 admitted); labels partly cut off, mapped by position.
  • C8A marks SAT or ACT as 'Required for some'; C8F says tests are not required for applicants 22+ and test-optional applicants can apply. Read together as test-optional for some applicants; the C8F clarification was used for the policy phrase.
  • C8G lists SAT and ACT as placement tests.
  • C11: bands below 3.50 (12.7 + 10.4 + 4.5 + 0.2 + 0.0 + 0.0) sum to 27.8.
  • C22: early action offered (nonbinding) but applicant and admit counts not reported.
  • B4-B21: the 4-year graduation rate is not printed (only the 6-year rate of 48% for the 2018 cohort), so grad_rate_4yr is null. The 2017 cohort table header reads 'Six-year graduation rate for 2016 cohort', a label inconsistency. The most recent bachelor's cohort (Fall 2018) was used.
  • B22: retention rate 77.4% is for the Fall 2023 full-time first-time cohort.
  • G1: first-year and all-undergraduate costs are identical. Public institution: tuition shown separately for in-district/in-state (11,460) and out-of-state (29,448), so the general tuition field is null. Room and board uses the on-campus food and housing figure (13,100).
  • H2: first-time, full-time first-year column used. pct_need_fully_met = 246 / 1,806 = 13.6%, computed as instructed. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed directly (line d/line c would be 1,806/1,815), so it is left null.
  • H2 line I is the average percentage of need met for first-time full-time first-year students (58.1%); the average need-based package is line J (13,751.00) and the average need-based grant is line K (12,949.76).
Coastal Carolina University admissions FAQ
What is Coastal Carolina University's acceptance rate?
Coastal Carolina University admitted 15,828 of 21,028 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 75.3%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Coastal Carolina University's early decision acceptance rate?
Coastal Carolina University admitted 293 of 380 early decision applicants (77.1%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for Coastal Carolina University?
The middle 50% of Coastal Carolina University's enrolled first-years scored 1070–1210 on the SAT and 21–26 on the ACT.
How many students get off Coastal Carolina University's waitlist?
Coastal Carolina University offered 181 students a waitlist spot and admitted 60 from it (44.4% of those who stayed on).
How much does Coastal Carolina University cost?
Tuition is $11,460 in-state, plus $13,100 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $12,950.
What is Coastal Carolina University's graduation rate?
48% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Coastal Carolina University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?