ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of the South Common Data Set 2025-26

TNTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required (C8A, for Fall 2027); no test-based advising (C8D); clarification (C8F) blankCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

56.4%

2,570 of 4,555

Early decision rate

71%

Non-ED pool: 55.6%

SAT middle 50%

1210–1360

ACT middle 50%

27–31

Admissions
AppliedC14,555
AdmittedC12,570
EnrolledC1454
YieldC117.7%
Early decisionC21176 of 248 (71%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2229
Accepted a placeC249
Admitted from waitlistC25
Odds if you stay on the listC210.2%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC924%
Submitted ACTC936%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9615–700
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9575–690
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$60,088
Required feesG1$320
Food and housingG1$17,272
Need fully met (first-years)H237.7%
Average % of need metH289.4%
Average need-based packageH2$51,825
Average need-based grantH2$41,774
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceImportant
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB11,590
First-year retentionB2288.3%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB78.6%
Notes on this filing
  • C8A marks test-optional (not required, considered if submitted) and C8F is blank, so the policy is taken from C8A alone; C8A refers to the Fall 2027 cycle.
  • C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals taken from the residency table (4555, 2570, 454); they match the men+women sums in C1 (2142+2413, 1071+1499, 197+257). Unknown-sex cells are blank.
  • C2: waitlist labels are cut off; counts mapped by position (offered 229, accepted place 49, admitted 5). Ranked waitlist answered No.
  • Early decision figures (248 applied, 176 admitted) are stated on the form for the Fall 2024 entering class, not Fall 2025.
  • Early action: offered is Yes, but applicant and admit counts are not printed.
  • B22 retention: the printed box shows 88, the underlying field is 88.3; 422/478 = 88.3, so 88.3 is used.
  • Graduation: the 6-year rate 78.62 is for the Fall 2019 cohort (H). The 4-year rate is not printed (D = 313 of 435 final cohort), so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • C11/C12: high school GPA data is not reported; all GPA bands and averages are blank, so the GPA fields are null.
  • H2: pct_need_fully_met = line h (90) / line d (239) = 37.7%, computed per the instructions. Line d is 'awarded any financial aid', which is the closest printed match to the instruction's 'any need-based aid' wording.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not a printed value and is not computed, so it is null.
  • H1 aid figures are 2024-25 final, while G1 costs are for 2026-27 (the filing's stated year). Private school: one tuition figure, so in-state and out-of-state are null.
  • I-3 class-size and other items were not needed for this extract.

Similar colleges

Lake Forest College

IL · 56.9% admitted · SAT 1230–1400

Compare with University of the South
DePauw University

IN · 57.2% admitted · SAT 1130–1350

Compare with University of the South
Allegheny College

PA · 58.8% admitted · SAT 1155–1360

Compare with University of the South
Washington College

MD · 56.9% admitted · SAT 1155–1340

Compare with University of the South
Marist University

NY · 56.5% admitted · SAT 1210–1345

Compare with University of the South
University of the South admissions FAQ
What is University of the South's acceptance rate?
University of the South admitted 2,570 of 4,555 first-year applicants for 2025-26, an acceptance rate of 56.4%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is University of the South's early decision acceptance rate?
University of the South admitted 176 of 248 early decision applicants (71%) for 2025-26.
What SAT score do you need for University of the South?
The middle 50% of University of the South's enrolled first-years scored 1210–1360 on the SAT and 27–31 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of the South's waitlist?
University of the South offered 229 students a waitlist spot and admitted 5 from it (10.2% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of the South cost?
Tuition is $60,088, plus $17,272 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $41,774.
What is University of the South's graduation rate?
78.6% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of the South Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?