All colleges
Indiana University Bloomington Common Data Set 2023-24
INTest policy: Required for some applicants: SAT and/or ACT required for some, otherwise considered if submitted (C8A); no C8F clarification givenCompare with other schoolsAP credit
Acceptance rate
80.4%
43,624 of 54,279
Early decision rate
No ED
SAT middle 50%
1180–1380
ACT middle 50%
27–32
Who got into Indiana University Bloomington: GPA and SAT of reported applicants
Accepted 196Waitlisted 5Rejected 6Preview
Self-reported by 207 applicants on Reddit, so it leans toward strong applicants and isn't Indiana University Bloomington's official data. 6 with lower scores are off the chart but counted in the table. See your chances
See who got into Indiana University Bloomington
GPA and SAT of 207 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.
Unlock for $39, one timeAdmissions
| AppliedC1 | 54,279 |
| AdmittedC1 | 43,624 |
| EnrolledC1 | 9,550 |
| YieldC1 | 21.9% |
| Early decisionC21 | Not offered |
| Early actionC22 | Offered, counts not reported |
Waitlist
| Offered a placeC2 | 2,657 |
| Accepted a placeC2 | 1,317 |
| Admitted from waitlistC2 | 1,143 |
| Odds if you stay on the listC2 | 86.8% |
Test scores and GPA
| Submitted SATC9 | 40.9% |
| Submitted ACTC9 | 16.2% |
| SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9 | 590–690 |
| SAT Math (25th–75th)C9 | 580–710 |
| Average high school GPAC12 | 3.78 |
| GPA of 4.0C11 | 41.6% |
| GPA 3.75–3.99C11 | 23.6% |
| GPA 3.50–3.74C11 | 17.2% |
| GPA below 3.50C11 | 17.5% |
Cost and financial aid
| Tuition, in-stateG1 | $10,312.46 |
| Tuition, out-of-stateG1 | $39,004.02 |
| Required feesG1 | $1,477.7 |
| Food and housingG1 | $13,380 |
| Need fully met (first-years)H2 | 19.9% |
| Average % of need metH2 | 66.1% |
| Average need-based packageH2 | $14,753 |
| Average need-based grantH2 | $13,155 |
What admissions looks at
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankVery important
- Academic GPAVery important
- Standardized test scoresImportant
- Application essayImportant
- Recommendation(s)Considered
- InterviewConsidered
- Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
- Talent/abilityConsidered
- Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni/ae relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyConsidered
- Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
From item C7.
Outcomes
| UndergraduatesB1 | 36,833 |
| First-year retentionB22 | 90.5% |
| 4-year graduation rateB | — |
| 6-year graduation rateB | 81.2% |
Notes on this filing
- The PDF bundles seven IU campus filings (Bloomington, IUPUI, East, Kokomo, Northwest, South Bend, Southeast); only the first (Indiana University Bloomington) was extracted.
- Year assumed to be 2023-24 from the Fall 2023 reporting date and 2024-25 cost data; the filing does not state an academic year label.
- C1: early action offered (closing 11/1, notification 1/15) but early action applicant and admit counts not reported; early decision not offered.
- C2: waitlist counts are printed for offered (2,657), accepted a place (1,317) and admitted (1,143).
- C8A: 'Require for Some' is checked for SAT and/or ACT; C8F clarification is blank.
- B4-B11/Graduation: 4-year rate not printed as a rate; 6-year rate (81.17%) is the Fall 2017 cohort total. 4-year completers (5,694) over the final cohort (7,964) could be derived but was not stated.
- H2: aid percentage with need-based aid is not printed as a rate, so left null. pct_need_fully_met = line h (745) / line d (3,753), per the rule for computed values. Line d is labeled 'any financial aid' in this filing.
- Cost: public school with different in-state and out-of-state tuition; first-year column used, in-district tuition shown as in-state.
- H2 and G1 values are for the first-time, first-year column and the first-year cost column, as instructed.
Source: Indiana University Bloomington Common Data Set 2023-24 . “—” means the college left the item blank.