ClassOfNext
All colleges

Earlham College Common Data Set 2024-25

INTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required; considered if submitted (C8A and C8F agree; test-optional since 2011)Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

73.1%

1,517 of 2,075

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1125–1285

ACT middle 50%

24–33

Admissions
AppliedC12,075
AdmittedC11,517
EnrolledC1211
YieldC113.9%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC923%
Submitted ACTC99%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9570–660
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9540–630
Average high school GPAC123.43
GPA of 4.0C1129.2%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1110.1%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1115.8%
GPA below 3.50C1145%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$54,864
Required feesG1$950
Food and housingG1$14,824
Need fully met (first-years)H225.7%
Average % of need metH288%
Average need-based packageH2$46,475
Average need-based grantH2$41,662
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB1696
First-year retentionB2277%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB69%
Notes on this filing
  • Year labeled 2024-25 from the filing title; cost figures (G1) are for 2025-26 and aid (H1/H2) is 2023-24 final.
  • C1 applicant, admit and enrollee totals are the sums of the gender rows (2075, 1517, 211); C1 enrollee total matches B1 and B2.
  • C2: waitlist policy answered No, so the waitlist table is blank and left null.
  • C3-C5: GED accepted; recommended college-prep program; recommended unit counts only (English 4, math 3, science 2, language 2, social studies 2, visual/performing arts 2).
  • C9: SAT submitters 23% (49 students), ACT submitters 9% (20 students); ACT percentile figures are reported as printed.
  • C10/C11: class rank and GPA percentages are for all enrolled first-time students; GPA below 3.50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99, 2.0-2.49, 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands.
  • C17/C16: admission notifications on a rolling basis from Nov 1 with reply due May 1; early action closes Nov 1 with no early action notification date printed; early action counts not reported; early decision not offered.
  • Early action (C22) is offered and nonrestrictive, but no applied or admitted counts are given.
  • B4-B21: 6-year rate of 69% (187/271) is printed in the filing. The 4-year completion count is 175 of 271 but no 4-year rate is printed, so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • B1 gives 211 first-time first-year students, while H2 line a gives 202 for the same cohort; the H2 figure was used as printed.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed (line d/line c = 171/171 = 100%, but not reported as a percent), so left null. pct_need_fully_met is computed as H2 line h (44) / line d (171) = 25.7%. avg_pct_need_met is row I (88). avg_need_based_package is row J's average financial aid package (46,475). avg_need_based_grant is row K (41,662).
  • Test policy: C8F says the institution accepts the best score on each section; this is consistent with C8A.

Similar colleges

Taylor University

IN · 73.5% admitted · SAT 1080–1320

Compare with Earlham College
Lycoming College

PA · 74.1% admitted · SAT 1088–1270

Compare with Earlham College
Augustana University

SD · 72.9% admitted · SAT ~1090–1360

Compare with Earlham College
Hollins University

VA · 67.5% admitted · SAT 1110–1250

Compare with Earlham College
SUNY at Purchase College

NY · 74% admitted · SAT 1198–1363

Compare with Earlham College
Earlham College admissions FAQ
What is Earlham College's acceptance rate?
Earlham College admitted 1,517 of 2,075 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 73.1%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does Earlham College have early decision?
No. Earlham College does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Earlham College?
The middle 50% of Earlham College's enrolled first-years scored 1125–1285 on the SAT and 24–33 on the ACT.
How much does Earlham College cost?
Tuition is $54,864, plus $14,824 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $41,662.
What is Earlham College's graduation rate?
69% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Earlham College Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?