ClassOfNext
All colleges

Purdue University Common Data Set 2025-26

INTest policy: Test-required: SAT or ACT scores required to be considered for admission; C8F clarification blankCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

43.4%

37,881 of 87,220

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1220–1470

ACT middle 50%

28–34

Admissions
AppliedC187,220
AdmittedC137,881
EnrolledC19,656
YieldC125.5%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC28,981
Accepted a placeC24,047
Admitted from waitlistC23,916
Odds if you stay on the listC296.8%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC983.8%
Submitted ACTC922.6%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9610–730
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9600–760
Average high school GPAC123.81
GPA of 4.0C1142.7%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1128%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1115.9%
GPA below 3.50C1113.5%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1—
Required feesG1—
Food and housingG1—
Need fully met (first-years)H216.6%
Average % of need metH265.3%
Average need-based packageH2$14,569
Average need-based grantH2$13,698
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresImportant
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationImportant
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB143,633
First-year retentionB2292.4%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB83.9%
Notes on this filing
  • H1: the X marking the aid year is not clearly aligned to a column; year set to 2025-26 because the enrollment and admissions data are for Fall 2025.
  • H2 line A (11339 first-time full-time first-year) does not match B1 first-time first-year enrollment (FT 5674+3833=9507; total with part-time 9656). Line A appears to reflect a different cohort, possibly the Fall 2024 retention cohort (B22 = 11357).
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is computed as line D / line C (3311/3311) for the first-time full-time column; pct_need_fully_met is line H / line D (549/3311) for the same column.
  • C1: applicant, admit and enrollee totals were summed from the sex-specific rows; they match the printed residency-table totals (87220, 37881, 9656). Unknown-sex rows are blank.
  • C2: waitlist counts mapped by position: offered 8981, accepted a place 4047, admitted from waitlist 3916. Waitlist is not ranked.
  • C7: factor levels mapped by checked column position in the table.
  • C8A/C8F: C8F is blank, so the policy summary relies on the C8A checkbox alone. C9 shows 83.8% SAT and 22.6% ACT submitters, which sum above 100%, implying overlap; the filing does not state the share submitting neither test.
  • C21: early decision not offered; counts blank.
  • C22: early action is offered, but applicant and admit counts are not printed. The closing date (Oct 31 2025) falls after the notification date (Jan 14 2025), which is internally inconsistent; the restrictive-plan question is blank.
  • C10 and C12 values are used as printed; C12 average GPA 3.81 is for students who submitted GPA.
  • Graduation: the four-year rate is not printed as a rate, so grad_rate_4yr is null. The six-year rate uses the Fall 2019 cohort (H total, printed as 0.8388).
  • Retention rate is from B22 (Fall 2024 cohort, 10490 of 11357 still enrolled in Fall 2025), printed as 0.9237.
  • Cost (G1) is not present in this filing; all cost fields are null.
  • gpa.pct_below_3_50 = sum of the All-enrolled bands below 3.50 (8.22+3.32+1.71+0.19+0.03 = 13.47).

Similar colleges

Auburn University

AL · 45.9% admitted · SAT 1260–1380

Compare with Purdue University
UC Davis

CA · 44.3% admitted · SAT —

Compare with Purdue University
University of Washington

WA · 41.7% admitted · SAT 1320–1502

Compare with Purdue University
Ohio State University

OH · 49.2% admitted · SAT 1300–1440

Compare with Purdue University
Purdue University admissions FAQ
What is Purdue University's acceptance rate?
Purdue University admitted 37,881 of 87,220 first-year applicants for 2025-26, an acceptance rate of 43.4%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does Purdue University have early decision?
No. Purdue University does not offer early decision, per its 2025-26 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Purdue University?
The middle 50% of Purdue University's enrolled first-years scored 1220–1470 on the SAT and 28–34 on the ACT.
How many students get off Purdue University's waitlist?
Purdue University offered 8,981 students a waitlist spot and admitted 3,916 from it (96.8% of those who stayed on).
What is Purdue University's graduation rate?
83.9% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Purdue University Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?