All colleges
University of Massachusetts Amherst Common Data Set 2025-26
MATest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required for admissionCompare with other schoolsAP credit
Acceptance rate
59.9%
31,813 of 53,117
Early decision rate
No ED
SAT middle 50%
1330–1480
ACT middle 50%
30–34
Who got into University of Massachusetts Amherst: GPA and SAT of reported applicants
Accepted 185Waitlisted 28Rejected 11Preview
Self-reported by 224 applicants on Reddit, so it leans toward strong applicants and isn't University of Massachusetts Amherst's official data. 4 with lower scores are off the chart but counted in the table. See your chances
See who got into University of Massachusetts Amherst
GPA and SAT of 224 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.
Unlock for $39, one timeAdmissions
| AppliedC1 | 53,117 |
| AdmittedC1 | 31,813 |
| EnrolledC1 | 5,315 |
| YieldC1 | 16.7% |
| Early decisionC21 | Not offered |
| Early actionC22 | Offered, counts not reported |
Waitlist
| Offered a placeC2 | 11,100 |
| Accepted a placeC2 | 7,261 |
| Admitted from waitlistC2 | 2,349 |
| Odds if you stay on the listC2 | 32.4% |
Test scores and GPA
| Submitted SATC9 | 24.9% |
| Submitted ACTC9 | 0.3% |
| SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9 | 660–740 |
| SAT Math (25th–75th)C9 | 660–760 |
| Average high school GPAC12 | 4.05 |
| GPA of 4.0C11 | 59.9% |
| GPA 3.75–3.99C11 | 21.1% |
| GPA 3.50–3.74C11 | 12.4% |
| GPA below 3.50C11 | 6.5% |
Cost and financial aid
| Tuition, in-stateG1 | $17,601 |
| Tuition, out-of-stateG1 | $40,873 |
| Required feesG1 | $1,386 |
| Food and housingG1 | $16,726 |
| Need fully met (first-years)H2 | 20.1% |
| Average % of need metH2 | 86.4% |
| Average need-based packageH2 | $24,457 |
| Average need-based grantH2 | $18,559 |
What admissions looks at
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankImportant
- Academic GPAVery important
- Standardized test scoresConsidered
- Application essayImportant
- Recommendation(s)Important
- InterviewNot considered
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- Talent/abilityImportant
- Character/personal qualitiesImportant
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni/ae relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceNot considered
- State residencyNot considered
- Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceImportant
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
From item C7.
Outcomes
| UndergraduatesB1 | 24,019 |
| First-year retentionB22 | 92.3% |
| 4-year graduation rateB | — |
| 6-year graduation rateB | 81.3% |
Notes on this filing
- Public institution: tuition reported as in-state $17,601 and out-of-state $40,873; single 'tuition' left null.
- C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals are sums of male and female counts; they match the residency table (53,117 / 31,813 / 5,315). No unknown-sex entries.
- C2: waitlist rows mapped by position: offered 11,100; accepted place 7,261; admitted 2,349. Labels were cut off in the PDF. Waitlist not ranked.
- C21: early decision not offered; counts left null.
- C22: early action offered (closing 5-Nov, notification 25-Jan), but applicant and admit counts are not reported.
- C8A/C8F: SAT/ACT checked as 'not required, but considered if submitted'; C8F clarification is blank.
- C7: 'Considered' and 'Important' columns read from the X positions; the PDF layout is ambiguous for some rows.
- C11: GPA bands taken from the 'Percent (All enrolled students)' column. Bands below 3.50 (5.3+0.7+0.4+0.1+0+0) sum to 6.5; all bands total 99.9 due to rounding.
- Graduation: only the 6-year rate (81.3%, Fall 2019 cohort, item H) is printed; the 4-year rate is not printed, so it is left null.
- Aid H2: first-time full-time first-year column used. pct_need_fully_met = 474 / 2,354 = 20.1%. pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not stated in the filing, so it is left null.
- Aid J/K: average package $24,457 and average need-based grant $18,559 from the first-year column.
- Fees: first-year required fees $1,386 used (all-undergraduate figure is $886). Room and board is the first-year food and housing figure $16,726.
Source: University of Massachusetts Amherst Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.