ClassOfNext
All colleges

Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering Common Data Set 2023-24

MATest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT accepted, no minimum scores; C8 answers 'No' to using scores, but C8F says scores are considered with other materialsCompare with other schools

Acceptance rate

21.7%

201 of 928

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

1500–1560

ACT middle 50%

34–35

Admissions
AppliedC1928
AdmittedC1201
EnrolledC198
YieldC148.8%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC253
Accepted a placeC233
Admitted from waitlistC210
Odds if you stay on the listC230.3%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC946%
Submitted ACTC922%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9720–770
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9760–790
Average high school GPAC123.90
GPA of 4.0C1143%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1144%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1111%
GPA below 3.50C112%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$59,972
Required feesG1$4,486
Food and housingG1$19,820
Need fully met (first-years)H2100%
Average % of need metH299%
Average need-based packageH2$57,912
Average need-based grantH2$56,825
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewVery important
  • Extracurricular activitiesVery important
  • Talent/abilityVery important
  • Character/personal qualitiesVery important
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceImportant
  • Level of applicant's interestVery important

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB1402
First-year retentionB2299%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB92%
Notes on this filing
  • Data reflect Fall 2023 admissions/enrollment and 2023-24 costs and aid; the filing's year is 2023-24, not the 2025-26 example.
  • C8: 'Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores' is answered No, but C8F states applicants may submit scores and they are considered; C8F was trusted for the policy.
  • C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals taken from the printed totals (928, 201, 98), which match the sums of the men and women columns.
  • C2: waitlist counts mapped by position: offered 53, accepted a place 33, admitted 10.
  • C21 and C22 (early decision and early action) are blank, so their fields are null.
  • 4-year graduation rate is not printed as a rate; D (66 of 90 completed in four years) is available but was not converted, so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • Graduation rate uses the 2017 cohort (six-year rate 92%), the most recent bachelor's cohort reported.
  • H2 uses the full-time first-time first-year column (98 enrolled, 50 with need, 50 awarded any aid).
  • pct_need_fully_met computed as H (50) / D (50) = 100.0 per the instruction.
  • pct_with_need_awarded_aid left null: the filing prints counts but no percent for this item.
  • avg_need_based_package uses J (average financial aid package of all aided students), not a need-based-only figure.
  • Cost uses the first-year column; the school has one tuition rate, so in-state and out-of-state are null.
  • C10 class rank percentages are blank.
Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering admissions FAQ
What is Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering's acceptance rate?
Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering admitted 201 of 928 first-year applicants for 2023-24, an acceptance rate of 21.7%, according to its Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering?
The middle 50% of Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering's enrolled first-years scored 1500–1560 on the SAT and 34–35 on the ACT.
How many students get off Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering's waitlist?
Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering offered 53 students a waitlist spot and admitted 10 from it (30.3% of those who stayed on).
How much does Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering cost?
Tuition is $59,972, plus $19,820 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $56,825.
What is Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering's graduation rate?
92% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering Common Data Set 2023-24 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?