ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of Portland Common Data Set 2024-25

ORTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required; scores also used for advising and placement (SAT, ACT, AP). C8F clarification is blank.Compare with other schools

Acceptance rate

94.1%

7,382 of 7,846

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1168–1370

ACT middle 50%

25–31

Admissions
AppliedC17,846
AdmittedC17,382
EnrolledC1711
YieldC19.6%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2135
Accepted a placeC286
Admitted from waitlistC247
Odds if you stay on the listC254.7%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC96%
Submitted ACTC93%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9580–670
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9580–700
Average high school GPAC123.69
GPA of 4.0C11—
GPA 3.75–3.99C11—
GPA 3.50–3.74C11—
GPA below 3.50C11—
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$58,800
Required feesG1$1,550
Food and housingG1—
Need fully met (first-years)H26.8%
Average % of need metH282.5%
Average need-based packageH2$52,322
Average need-based grantH2$47,774
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Considered
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentConsidered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceImportant
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB12,986
First-year retentionB2288%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB80%
Notes on this filing
  • Year: filing is the CDS 2024-2025 collection; admissions and enrollment are Fall 2024.
  • Applied (7,846), admitted (7,382) and enrolled (711) are sums of the men and women columns (C1); the 443 applicants and 9 admits of unknown gender are excluded. Enrolled total matches B2 first-time first-year total.
  • C2: waitlist counts were printed without total-row labels and were mapped by position: offered 135, accepted place 86, admitted 47. Waitlist is not ranked.
  • C2: residency breakdown table left blank.
  • C21: early decision not offered. C22: early action offered (closing and notification 12/01), but early action applied and admitted counts are not reported.
  • C8F blank; policy summarized from C8A checkboxes (not required, but considered if submitted) and C8D/C8G.
  • C11: GPA band percentages are blank (totals show 0.00), so pct_below_3_50 and band values are null; average GPA 3.69 from C12.
  • Graduation: most recent bachelor's cohort is Fall 2018. Four-year rate is not printed (only counts: 680 of 1,002), so grad_rate_4yr is null. Six-year rate 80.00 from line H.
  • Cost (G1, first-year column): private institution, single tuition $58,800; in-state/out-of-state not applicable. Housing only $11,200 and food only $6,800 are printed separately; no combined food-and-housing figure, so room_and_board is null. G4 notes 62.74% of full-time undergraduates pay more than the G1 tuition and fees because tuition varies by program.
  • Aid (H2, first-time full-time first-year column): percent with need-based aid awarded is not printed, so null. pct_need_fully_met = 37 / 544 = 6.8 per the stated rule (line h / line d).
  • H2 counts: line d (any aid awarded) = 544; the filing's line h (fully met) = 37.
University of Portland admissions FAQ
What is University of Portland's acceptance rate?
University of Portland admitted 7,382 of 7,846 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 94.1%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does University of Portland have early decision?
No. University of Portland does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for University of Portland?
The middle 50% of University of Portland's enrolled first-years scored 1168–1370 on the SAT and 25–31 on the ACT.
How many students get off University of Portland's waitlist?
University of Portland offered 135 students a waitlist spot and admitted 47 from it (54.7% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of Portland cost?
Tuition is $58,800, before aid. The average need-based grant is $47,774.
What is University of Portland's graduation rate?
80% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of Portland Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?