All colleges
University of Wisconsin-Madison Common Data Set 2025-26
WITest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required but considered if submitted; optional for applicants through spring 2027 term (C8F)Compare with other schoolsAP credit
Acceptance rate
40.8%
30,167 of 73,912
Early decision rate
No ED
SAT middle 50%
1400–1490
ACT middle 50%
29–33
Who got into University of Wisconsin-Madison: GPA and SAT of reported applicants
Accepted 286Waitlisted 39Rejected 41Preview
Self-reported by 366 applicants on Reddit, so it leans toward strong applicants and isn't University of Wisconsin-Madison's official data. 9 with lower scores are off the chart but counted in the table. See your chances
See who got into University of Wisconsin-Madison
GPA and SAT of 366 reported applicants, accepted vs. rejected.
Unlock for $39, one timeAdmissions
| AppliedC1 | 73,912 |
| AdmittedC1 | 30,167 |
| EnrolledC1 | 8,495 |
| YieldC1 | 28.2% |
| Early decisionC21 | Not offered |
| Early actionC22 | Offered, counts not reported |
Waitlist
| Offered a placeC2 | 6,476 |
| Accepted a placeC2 | 4,317 |
| Admitted from waitlistC2 | 1,088 |
| Odds if you stay on the listC2 | 25.2% |
Test scores and GPA
| Submitted SATC9 | 11.8% |
| Submitted ACTC9 | 28.7% |
| SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9 | 680–740 |
| SAT Math (25th–75th)C9 | 700–780 |
| Average high school GPAC12 | 3.91 |
| GPA of 4.0C11 | 53.9% |
| GPA 3.75–3.99C11 | 33.7% |
| GPA 3.50–3.74C11 | 8.5% |
| GPA below 3.50C11 | 3.9% |
Cost and financial aid
| Tuition, in-stateG1 | $10,716.72 |
| Tuition, out-of-stateG1 | $44,232 |
| Required feesG1 | $1,699.48 |
| Food and housingG1 | $14,994 |
| Need fully met (first-years)H2 | 82.3% |
| Average % of need metH2 | 92% |
| Average need-based packageH2 | $36,654 |
| Average need-based grantH2 | $34,828 |
What admissions looks at
- Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
- Class rankConsidered
- Academic GPAVery important
- Standardized test scoresConsidered
- Application essayImportant
- Recommendation(s)Important
- InterviewNot considered
- Extracurricular activitiesImportant
- Talent/abilityConsidered
- Character/personal qualitiesImportant
- First generationConsidered
- Alumni/ae relationNot considered
- Geographical residenceConsidered
- State residencyImportant
- Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
- Volunteer workConsidered
- Work experienceConsidered
- Level of applicant's interestNot considered
From item C7.
Outcomes
| UndergraduatesB1 | 39,193 |
| First-year retentionB22 | 96.3% |
| 4-year graduation rateB | — |
| 6-year graduation rateB | 89.7% |
Notes on this filing
- C2: waitlist labels are cut off; values mapped by position: offered a place 6476, accepted place 4317, admitted from waitlist 1088.
- C.2110/C.2111 early decision counts blank, and early decision is marked not offered (C.2101 = No).
- C.2201 early action offered (Yes), but early action applied and admitted counts are not reported.
- C8A and C8F agree: SAT/ACT not required but considered if submitted; optional through spring 2027 term.
- C8E latest test-score date is printed as Jan 21 2027 in the date field but as 1/22 in the month/day fields; not used in the output.
- C.1127 (GPA 2.0-2.49) is blank in the sheet but printed as 0 in the C11 table; pct_below_3_50 = 0.029 + 0.0073 + 0.0025 = 3.88.
- G1: first-year tuition for out-of-state is 44232 (G.105); nonresident tuition is printed separately as 45232.08 (G.106) and is not used here.
- G1: one tuition figure not separately given for all students; in-state and out-of-state were filled from first-year public tuition rows and tuition is null.
- Graduation: the 4-year rate is not printed as a rate (only counts in line D), so grad_rate_4yr is null. 6-year rate 0.8969536... from the Fall 2019 cohort (line H) is shown rounded to 89.7.
- H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed as a percent (only counts in lines C and D), so it is null. pct_need_fully_met = line H 2662 / line D 3233 = 82.3%.
- H1/H2 are for 2025-2026 Estimated aid year, while G1 costs are for 2026-2027 (final costs expected July 31, 2026).
- retention_rate taken from B22 (0.963 of Fall 2024 first-time full-time cohort still enrolled in Fall 2025).
Source: University of Wisconsin-Madison Common Data Set 2025-26 . “—” means the college left the item blank.