ClassOfNext
All colleges

Fairfield University Common Data Set 2024-25

CTTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted, not required; latest score date 1/15/25Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

33.3%

6,162 of 18,509

Early decision rate

79.8%

Non-ED pool: 32%

SAT middle 50%

1270–1370

ACT middle 50%

29–32

Admissions
AppliedC118,509
AdmittedC16,162
EnrolledC11,461
YieldC123.7%
Early decisionC21412 of 516 (79.8%)
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC28,898
Accepted a placeC22,477
Admitted from waitlistC222
Odds if you stay on the listC20.9%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC914%
Submitted ACTC95%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9630–700
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9630–690
Average high school GPAC123.76
GPA of 4.0C1132.6%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1120.9%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1121.5%
GPA below 3.50C1125.2%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$57,450
Required feesG1$900
Food and housingG1$19,838
Need fully met (first-years)H241.6%
Average % of need metH278.3%
Average need-based packageH2$32,097
Average need-based grantH2$30,784
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankConsidered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewImportant
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationImportant
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceImportant
  • Level of applicant's interestImportant

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB15,391
First-year retentionB2291%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB84%
Notes on this filing
  • Year: filing is labeled CDS 2024-2025; enrollment and admissions are Fall 2024 data.
  • C1: applied total (18,509) is taken from the residency breakdown row because no single printed total for first-time applicants appears in the gender table; it equals men 6,977 plus women 11,532. Admitted total 6,162 = men 2,401 plus women 3,761. Enrolled 1,461 is the printed total.
  • C2: waitlist labels were cut off; counts mapped by position (8,898 offered, 2,477 accepted a place, 22 admitted). Ranked-waitlist release questions left blank.
  • C8A: SAT/ACT checked as 'not required, but considered if submitted' for all three rows; C8F clarification is blank, so no conflict.
  • C11: GPA bands sum to 100.2% as printed; pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the bands below 3.50 (13.4+6.5+4.8+0.4+0.1+0.0 = 25.2).
  • C12: pct_submitting reported as printed (99.04%).
  • C18: deferred enrollment maximum is one year.
  • C21/C22: Early action applied and admitted counts not reported; early action closing 11/1, notification 12/20, non-restrictive.
  • Graduation: the 2018 cohort 4-year rate is not printed (only the 6-year rate, 84%), so grad_rate_4yr is null rather than computed.
  • G1: costs are labeled for 2025-26, but the 2025-26 costs-not-available box is checked and an estimated date of 4/1/25 is given, so the printed figures may reflect 2024-25 costs; flagged for verification.
  • H2: aid percentage 'with need awarded aid' computed as line D/line C (546/551 = 99.1%); line A/B definitions are ambiguous, so this is an interpretation.
  • H2: pct_need_fully_met = line H/line D = 227/546 = 41.6%, computed as instructed.
  • H2: avg_need_based_grant uses line K (average need-based scholarship/grant) = $30,784.

Similar colleges

Trinity College

CT · 33.5% admitted · SAT 1350–1440

Compare with Fairfield University
Bucknell University

PA · 28.9% admitted · SAT 1170–1380

Compare with Fairfield University
Connecticut College

CT · 39.2% admitted · SAT 1160–1370

Compare with Fairfield University
Gettysburg College

PA · 38.9% admitted · SAT ~1270–1460

Compare with Fairfield University
Bentley University

MA · 45.1% admitted · SAT 1290–1403

Compare with Fairfield University
Fairfield University admissions FAQ
What is Fairfield University's acceptance rate?
Fairfield University admitted 6,162 of 18,509 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 33.3%, according to its Common Data Set.
What is Fairfield University's early decision acceptance rate?
Fairfield University admitted 412 of 516 early decision applicants (79.8%) for 2024-25.
What SAT score do you need for Fairfield University?
The middle 50% of Fairfield University's enrolled first-years scored 1270–1370 on the SAT and 29–32 on the ACT.
How many students get off Fairfield University's waitlist?
Fairfield University offered 8,898 students a waitlist spot and admitted 22 from it (0.9% of those who stayed on).
How much does Fairfield University cost?
Tuition is $57,450, plus $19,838 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $30,784.
What is Fairfield University's graduation rate?
84% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Fairfield University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?