ClassOfNext
All colleges

California Lutheran University Common Data Set 2024-25

CATest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT not required but considered if submitted; SAT, ACT, AP and CLEP used for placementCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

75.7%

4,544 of 6,005

Early decision rate

No ED

SAT middle 50%

1120–1330

ACT middle 50%

24–31

Admissions
AppliedC16,005
AdmittedC14,544
EnrolledC1502
YieldC111%
Early decisionC21Not offered
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC97%
Submitted ACTC93%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9590–670
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9560–660
Average high school GPAC123.74
GPA of 4.0C1114.1%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1128.7%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1126.9%
GPA below 3.50C1130.3%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$53,650
Required feesG1$830
Food and housingG1$17,540
Need fully met (first-years)H2—
Average % of need metH2—
Average need-based packageH2—
Average need-based grantH2—
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordConsidered
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresConsidered
  • Application essayVery important
  • Recommendation(s)Very important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityConsidered
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationImportant
  • Alumni/ae relationConsidered
  • Geographical residenceImportant
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentConsidered
  • Volunteer workConsidered
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB12,297
First-year retentionB2279%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB70%
Notes on this filing
  • Year label taken from the filing title 'Common Data Set 2024-2025'; fall 2024 enrollment data.
  • C1: applied, admitted and enrolled totals are not printed in the C1 table; summed men/women/unknown (2594+3398+13=6005; 1944+2596+4=4544; 231+271=502). These match the residency table totals.
  • C1: another-gender and part-time rows are blank or zero.
  • C2: policy for waiting list is No and all waitlist counts are blank.
  • C21: Early decision not offered; counts blank.
  • C22: Early action offered (closing 1/15, notification 11/1), but applied and admitted counts are not reported.
  • C8A: all three test categories are 'not required but considered if submitted'; C8F clarification is blank.
  • C8E: latest SAT/ACT score date is 1/1/2025.
  • B4-B11: the Fall 2018 cohort is used (Fall 2017 blank). The printed six-year rate is 70% (474 of 681). The four-year completion count is 423 of 681, but no four-year rate is printed, so grad_rate_4yr is null.
  • B22: retention printed as 79.00%.
  • C11: GPA bands use the 'Percent (All enrolled students)' column. pct_below_3_50 is the sum of the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99, 2.0-2.49, 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands (16.2+10.9+3.2+0+0+0 = 30.3).
  • G1: private institution, so in-state and out-of-state tuition are null. Tuition, fees and food/housing are from the first-year column.
  • H1: totals are printed as $0 and the H2 first-time full-time column is blank, so aid percentages and averages are null. H2 line A shows 502 first-time full-time students.
  • B1: total undergraduates 2,297 matches the B4 total.
California Lutheran University admissions FAQ
What is California Lutheran University's acceptance rate?
California Lutheran University admitted 4,544 of 6,005 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 75.7%, according to its Common Data Set.
Does California Lutheran University have early decision?
No. California Lutheran University does not offer early decision, per its 2024-25 Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for California Lutheran University?
The middle 50% of California Lutheran University's enrolled first-years scored 1120–1330 on the SAT and 24–31 on the ACT.
How much does California Lutheran University cost?
Tuition is $53,650, plus $17,540 for food and housing, before aid.
What is California Lutheran University's graduation rate?
70% of students graduate within six years.

Source: California Lutheran University Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?