ClassOfNext
All colleges

University of San Diego Common Data Set 2024-25

CATest policy: Test-optional: SAT/ACT not used in admission decisions (C8 answered No; C8A grid blank); AP, CLEP and institutional exams used for placement.Compare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

52.4%

8,909 of 17,010

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

—

ACT middle 50%

—

Admissions
AppliedC117,010
AdmittedC18,909
EnrolledC11,104
YieldC112.4%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC23,885
Accepted a placeC21,986
Admitted from waitlistC21,441
Odds if you stay on the listC272.6%
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC9—
Submitted ACTC9—
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9—
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9—
Average high school GPAC124.02
GPA of 4.0C1158%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1125%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1112%
GPA below 3.50C115%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1$61,340
Required feesG1$1,080
Food and housingG1$18,230
Need fully met (first-years)H216.2%
Average % of need metH286%
Average need-based packageH2$59,506
Average need-based grantH2$53,833
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankImportant
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresNot considered
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Important
  • InterviewConsidered
  • Extracurricular activitiesImportant
  • Talent/abilityImportant
  • Character/personal qualitiesImportant
  • First generationConsidered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentConsidered
  • Volunteer workImportant
  • Work experienceConsidered
  • Level of applicant's interestConsidered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB15,851
First-year retentionB2291%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB84%
Notes on this filing
  • Applied, admitted and enrolled totals are sums of the C1 gender rows (6311+10697+2+0; 3262+5646+1+0; 400+1+702+1), matching the printed residency totals.
  • C1: early decision and early action applicant/admit counts are blank; only the plan offer and dates (ED 11/1 and 12/15; EA 11/1 and 12/15) are given.
  • C7: 'Rigor of secondary school record' and 'Academic GPA' are marked Very Important; the GPA entry is at the Very Important column.
  • C8A grid is blank; the C8 answer 'No' to using SAT/ACT scores in admission is taken as the policy. C8F clarification is blank.
  • C9 and the C9 percentile tables (SAT/ACT) are blank, so test-score and submission percentages are null.
  • C11: the printed percentages sit under 'Students who submitted scores'; the 'All enrolled' column is blank, so values are reported as printed. The below-3.50 figure (5) sums the 3.25-3.49, 3.00-3.24, 2.50-2.99, 2.0-2.49, 1.0-1.99 and below-1.0 bands.
  • Graduation: only the six-year rate (84%, 2018 cohort, total column) is printed; the four-year rate is not printed, so it is null.
  • Retention 91.00% is from B22 (Fall 2023 cohort).
  • H2 line I, J and K are first-time full-time first-year values. The percentage of students with need who were awarded aid is not printed, so it is null. pct_need_fully_met = 103/637 = 16.2 (line H / line D, first-time column).
  • G1: private institution; the tuition is the same for first-year and undergraduates. The food and housing figure is the on-campus food and housing total (18,230). In-state and out-of-state fields do not apply.
  • Undergrad total 5,851 is from B1/B2 (total undergraduates, both degree and non-degree seeking).
University of San Diego admissions FAQ
What is University of San Diego's acceptance rate?
University of San Diego admitted 8,909 of 17,010 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 52.4%, according to its Common Data Set.
How many students get off University of San Diego's waitlist?
University of San Diego offered 3,885 students a waitlist spot and admitted 1,441 from it (72.6% of those who stayed on).
How much does University of San Diego cost?
Tuition is $61,340, plus $18,230 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $53,833.
What is University of San Diego's graduation rate?
84% of students graduate within six years.

Source: University of San Diego Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?