ClassOfNext
All colleges

California State University, Northridge Common Data Set 2024-25

CATest policy: SAT or ACT required to be considered for admission (C8A); no C8F clarification givenCompare with other schoolsAP credit

Acceptance rate

92.5%

30,842 of 33,350

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

—

ACT middle 50%

—

Admissions
AppliedC133,350
AdmittedC130,842
EnrolledC14,655
YieldC115.1%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Offered, counts not reported
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC9—
Submitted ACTC9—
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9—
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9—
Average high school GPAC123.33
GPA of 4.0C1111.6%
GPA 3.75–3.99C1111.8%
GPA 3.50–3.74C1115.6%
GPA below 3.50C1160.9%
Cost and financial aid
Tuition, in-stateG1$6,084
Tuition, out-of-stateG1$18,684
Required feesG1$1,374
Food and housingG1$21,350
Need fully met (first-years)H2—
Average % of need metH2—
Average need-based packageH2$13,692
Average need-based grantH2$12,854
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
  • Class rankNot considered
  • Academic GPANot considered
  • Standardized test scoresVery important
  • Application essayNot considered
  • Recommendation(s)—
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
  • Talent/abilityNot considered
  • Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceConsidered
  • State residencyConsidered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workNot considered
  • Work experienceNot considered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB132,499
First-year retentionB22—
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB55%
Notes on this filing
  • C1 enrolled: gender rows (men 2024, women 2612, another 19) sum to 4655, but the by-status rows (2578+34, 2875+37, 19+0) sum to 5543, which matches B1/B2. The gender figures appear shifted; 4655 is the summed figure reported here.
  • C1 applied/admitted are sums of the men, women and another-gender rows (unknown-gender rows blank).
  • C2: policy answered No and all waitlist counts are blank.
  • C21/C22: early decision and early action offered/counts are blank; offered left null.
  • C8F box is blank. The 'C or better grades in all college prep classes. Min GPA 2.0' text sits in the C7 additional-information box, not C8F.
  • C9: percent and number submitting SAT/ACT and percentile scores are blank (the zeros in the score-range totals are not submission percentages).
  • C7: recommendations has no checkbox marked.
  • B22 retention rate is blank.
  • Graduation: 6-year rate of 55.00 is from the Fall 2018 cohort (line H, total column). No 4-year rate is printed; line D (1325 of 4764) is not converted.
  • G1: the public tuition in-district and in-state figures are both 6084; the tuition field is left null and in-state/out-of-state are filled.
  • H2 first-time first-year: line H (fully met) is blank, so pct_need_fully_met is null. Line I (avg % need met) and line C/D percentage were not printed, so those are null.
  • H2 line J is labeled as the average aid package for all awarded students in line d, not strictly need-based; reported as printed in avg_need_based_package.
  • Survey year is 2024-2025 with Fall 2024 data (H1 uses 2024-25 estimated aid).
California State University, Northridge admissions FAQ
What is California State University, Northridge's acceptance rate?
California State University, Northridge admitted 30,842 of 33,350 first-year applicants for 2024-25, an acceptance rate of 92.5%, according to its Common Data Set.
How much does California State University, Northridge cost?
Tuition is $6,084 in-state, plus $21,350 for food and housing, before aid. The average need-based grant is $12,854.
What is California State University, Northridge's graduation rate?
55% of students graduate within six years.

Source: California State University, Northridge Common Data Set 2024-25 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?