ClassOfNext
All colleges

Governors State University Common Data Set 2023-24

ILTest policy: Test-optional: SAT or ACT considered if submitted; ACT with or without writing accepted; no essay requiredCompare with other schoolsAP credit policy

Acceptance rate

47.6%

1,165 of 2,446

Early decision rate

—

SAT middle 50%

1000–1020

ACT middle 50%

21–22

Admissions
AppliedC12,446
AdmittedC11,165
EnrolledC1272
YieldC123.3%
Early decisionC21Offered, counts not reported
Early actionC22Not offered
Waitlist
Offered a placeC2—
Accepted a placeC2—
Admitted from waitlistC2—
Odds if you stay on the listC2—
Test scores and GPA
Submitted SATC91%
Submitted ACTC91%
SAT Reading & Writing (25th–75th)C9460–515
SAT Math (25th–75th)C9515–525
Average high school GPAC12—
GPA of 4.0C119%
GPA 3.75–3.99C119%
GPA 3.50–3.74C118%
GPA below 3.50C1174%
Cost and financial aid
TuitionG1—
Required feesG1—
Food and housingG1—
Need fully met (first-years)H20%
Average % of need metH288.6%
Average need-based packageH2$10,640
Average need-based grantH2$10,809
What admissions looks at
  • Rigor of secondary school recordNot considered
  • Class rankNot considered
  • Academic GPAVery important
  • Standardized test scoresVery important
  • Application essayImportant
  • Recommendation(s)Not considered
  • InterviewNot considered
  • Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
  • Talent/abilityNot considered
  • Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
  • First generationNot considered
  • Alumni/ae relationNot considered
  • Geographical residenceNot considered
  • State residencyNot considered
  • Religious affiliation/commitmentNot considered
  • Volunteer workNot considered
  • Work experienceNot considered
  • Level of applicant's interestNot considered

From item C7.

Outcomes
UndergraduatesB12,536
First-year retentionB2258.5%
4-year graduation rateB—
6-year graduation rateB17.2%
Notes on this filing
  • C2: waitlist policy answered No, so waitlist counts are left null.
  • C8A: SAT/ACT box checked under 'Consider if Submitted' (read as the column position); C8F clarification is blank.
  • C9: SAT composite median (p50) not reported; left null.
  • C10/C12: average high school GPA (C12) is blank; left null.
  • C21: early decision offered (closing 11/15, notification 12/15), but ED application and admit counts are blank.
  • C22: no early action plan.
  • G1: tuition, fees and room and board cells are blank; 2024-25 costs were to be published around June 2024. Public institution, so in-state and out-of-state fields would apply but no figures are printed.
  • Graduation: 4-year rate not printed (only the 6-year rate, 17.2%, for the 2015 cohort is stated); left null.
  • H2: pct_with_need_awarded_aid is not printed and was not computed; left null. pct_need_fully_met computed as 0 / 150 = 0.0 from first-time full-time freshmen column (line h / line d).
  • B22: retention rate of 58.54% is from the Fall 2022 freshman cohort reported at Fall 2023.
Governors State University admissions FAQ
What is Governors State University's acceptance rate?
Governors State University admitted 1,165 of 2,446 first-year applicants for 2023-24, an acceptance rate of 47.6%, according to its Common Data Set.
What SAT score do you need for Governors State University?
The middle 50% of Governors State University's enrolled first-years scored 1000–1020 on the SAT and 21–22 on the ACT.
What is Governors State University's graduation rate?
17.2% of students graduate within six years.

Source: Governors State University Common Data Set 2023-24 . “—” means the college left the item blank.

Is this helpful?